One of the top footballers in the world, Al Nassr forward Cristiano Ronaldo's noble act in the AFC Champions League fixture on Monday took social media by storm, convincing the referee to discard his own penalty call. The referee was convinced by Persepolis' player's actions, but Ronaldo urged him to reverse that particular decision.
The incident occurred as the Al Nassr players claimed a penalty after Ronaldo looked to have been tripped over by Soroush Rafiei inside the box when the 38-year-old was on track to hit a goal. Amid the discussions, the Portuguese footballer went up to the referee and claimed it was not a foul, leading the official to discard the call to award Al Nassr with a penalty kick.
Below is the clip of the same:
Al Nassr qualify for knockout stage despite draw:
Despite playing most of the contest with only 10 men in their ranks due to Ali Lajami's red card in the 17th minute of the contest, Al Nassr clung on to draw, thereby topping Group E and advancing to the knockout stages. It's worth noting that Ronaldo had also left the field due to the collision with Persepolis' goalkeeper Alireza Beiranvand, resulting in a neck injury.
Despite a couple of men being down for Al Nassr, Persepolis failed to capitalize and open their account.