Full list of every year Liverpool has won the English league title
Full list of every year Liverpool has won the English league title
@LFC - Twitter

The year 2020 marked Liverpool's 19th English league title, with the latest one coming for the first time since 1990.

Liverpool's 30-year long wait ended when Chelsea defeated Manchester City 2-1 in their Premier League clash at Stamford Bridge last night.

Chelsea triumph gave the Reds an unassailable 23-point lead over second-places Pep Guardiola's side who cannot bridge the gap in seven remaining league games.

Let us have a look at all the previous years in which the Reds have won the title:



















It was in 1990 that Liverpool last won a top-flight English title. It was also two years before Premier League came into play.

The Reds now have 19 English league titles, one lower than Manchester United's record of 20 titles.

Jurgen Klopp's side will now look to write even more history. They need 15 points from their remaining seven matches to set a new record points total for a Premier League campaign, and can also become the first team to win every single home game in a single season.

The current season was one of the most dominating season for Liverpool. With one of the best attacking trio - Mohamed Salah, Roberto Firmino and Sadio Mane - the Reds stood victorious for 18 games in a row.

While the entire team was quite dominating, the atmosphere at Anfield deserves equal credit. Liverpool's 'You'll never walk alone' anthem is heavily chanted at Anfield. With that said, the Reds have the record of 23 consecutive wins at home.

The Reds were on an unbeaten run for 44 matches, before losing their Champions League tie against Atletico Madrid that was following by a sour defeat against Wolves in the Premier League.

While Liverpool could not beat Arsenal's record of going unbeaten the entire season, their win ratio is clearly better than the Invincibles from 2003-04 season.

Liverpool has 28 wins with seven games in hand, and Arsenal ended the season with 26 wins and 12 draws.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal