Manipur Election 2022: Here's full list of candidates from BJP, Congress, NPP and NPF

FPJ Web Desk | Updated on: Tuesday, February 15, 2022, 04:24 PM IST


Manipur is one of the five states upcoming with assembly elections, along Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Uttarakhand and Punjab. Manipur assembly polls 2022 are to be held in two phases - voting on February 28 and March 5, while the results get declared on March 10.

Earlier, the dates of the poll were announced as February 27 and March, however, the Election Commission of India (ECI) revised the Manipur Assembly election schedule with respect to requests from tribes, political parties, inputs, representations, past precedent, logistics and ground situations.

On January 26, the BJP central parliamentary board headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi had given a green signal to the party’s initial list of candidates for the first phase of Manipur assembly polls. However, the names were only out in the end of January.

"Bharatiya Janata Party will contest on all 60 seats in the upcoming Manipur Assembly elections and form a government with more than 2/3rd majority," Bhupender Yadav was quoted as saying by news agency ANI.

Take a look at list of candidates, right here:

The Manipur Congress on January 22 released its first list of 40 candidates selected by the party’s central election committee to contest in the upcoming assembly elections in the state.

Given the current emotional scenario in Nagaland, the Congress in Manipur has vowed to push for "the immediate and complete removal of AFSPA" from the entire state if it is elected to power in the 2022 Assembly polls.

Take a look at list of candidates, right here:


The National People's Party on January 25 announced its first list of 20 candidates for scheduled assembly elections that included three sitting MLAs, including Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar Singh, contesting from their seats. The NPP had fielded its nominees in nine constituencies in the 2017 state polls and won four.

It had on January 23 released its election manifesto and promised the removal of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA), 1958 from Manipur. The party also focused on protection of rights of indigenous people.

Take a look at list of candidates, right here:


On January 31, the Naga People's Front announced its decision to contest from 10 seats in the forthcoming Manipur Assembly polls.

The 10 intending candidates were shortlisted out of 40 applicants. Addressing a press conference at the NPF central office in Kohima, Achumbemo Kikon, Secretary-General NPF, said that out of 11 constituencies in the “Naga-dominated” areas of Manipur, covering the districts of Senapati, Ukhrul, Chandel, and Tamenglong, the NPF will be not be contesting for the 54 Nungba Assembly Constituency (AC) under Tamenglong district, as there are no strong contenders from the party to contest for the seat.

Take a look at list of candidates, right here:

1) 41 Chandel A/C (ST) Langhu Paulhring Anal

2) 42 Tengnoupal A/C (ST) Dangsawa Korungthang Maring

3) 43 Phunuar A/C (ST) Leishiyo Keishing

4) 44 Ukhrul A/C (ST) Ram Muivah

5) 45 Chingai A/C (ST) Khashim Vashum

6) 47 Karong A/C (ST) Khoho Siile Antony

7) 48 Mao A/C: (ST) Losii Dikho

8) 49 Tadubi A/C (ST) M Francis Ngajokpa

9) 52 Tamei A/C (ST) Awangbow Newmai

10) 53 Tamenglong A/C (ST) Khangthuanang Panmei.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. To receive it on Telegram, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Tuesday, February 15, 2022, 04:24 PM IST