Updated on: Sunday, October 18, 2020, 09:39 PM IST

Madhya Pradesh Bypolls: Will change of loyalties also change fate of rivals

Turncoats Imarti Devi and Suresh Raje to come face to face once again with different patronage
 Imarti Devi and Suresh Raje |

Imarti Devi and Suresh Raje |


Congress has always an edge over its rival on Dabra Assembly seat as of the 13 elections the constituency seen so far six were won by Congress, while seven times people had voted in favour of BJP, BSP, Bhartiya Jan Sangh and Janata Dal.

In the coming bypolls, cabinet minister Imarti Devi from BJP and Suresh Raje of Congress will face each other.

In 2013, the two had faced each other and Imarti Devi, who was then in Congress, had defeated Raje by margin of 33,278 votes. The Congress candidate secured 52.77 per cent of the votes polled.

For the last three terms, Imarti Devi has been bagging the seat, adding the seat to the Congress tally. However, the political equations in the constituency has changed with the Congress leader  Imarti Devi shifting his loyalties to BJP. Interestingly, she will be facing her old rival Raje, the erstwhile BPJ leader, who now has joined the Congress camp.

The voters will seal the fate of the two candidates on November 3, while the verdict will be out on November 10.

Only two leaders- Union minister Narottam Mishra on the BJP ticket and Imarti Devi on Congress ticket have captured the seats thrice.

Dabra Vidhan Sabha seat, a part of Gwalior Parliamentary constituency, has been categorised as a rural seat and reserved to SC category.

In the 2018 elections, Dabra recorded a voter turnout of 68.12 per cent, while the figure stood at 65.15 % in 2013 and 59.87 % in 2008. The seat went into the kitty of Imarti Devi in these three terms

In 2013, Imarti Devi won the seat by a margin of 33,278 votes securing 52.77 per cent vote share.

In 2008, she secured 32.07 per cent of the total votes polled and won the elections by margin of 10,630 votes.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Congress has led in the Dabra Assembly segment of the Gwalior Parliamentary constituency.

The people have voted four times in favour of BJP, while Bhartiya Jan Sangh, Janta Party and BSP won the seat only once.

Legislators from Dabra Assembly Constituency

Year- Winner Candidates Name- Party

1962- Brinda Sahai- INC

1967- J. Singh- BJS

1972- Pahad Singh- INC

1977- Gopiram- JNP

1980- Jaggannath Singh- BJP

1985- Narsinghrao Pawar- INC

1990- Dr Narottam Mishra- BJP

1993- Jawahar Singh Rawat- BSP

1998- Dr Narottam Mishra- BJP

2003- Dr. Narottam Mishra- BJP

2008- Imarti Devi- INC

2013- Imarti Devi- INC

2018- Imarti Devi -INC


(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Monday, October 19, 2020, 05:00 AM IST