BREAKING NEWS

Advertisement

Viral

Updated on: Sunday, December 19, 2021, 05:55 PM IST

Watch video: Georgia Voll not given out despite being bowled in the WNCL clash between Queensland and Tasmania

Queensland Fire celebrate their win over Tasmanian Tigers in the WNCL. | Photo: Twitter

Queensland Fire celebrate their win over Tasmanian Tigers in the WNCL. | Photo: Twitter

Advertisement

In an unusual incident on Sunday, Georgia Voll wasn't ruled out despite being clean bowled by Belinda Vakarewa in the Queensland Fire versus Tasmanian Tigers in Hobart during the Women's National Cricket League. Reason? The bowling side didn't appeal.

In the 14th over of the first innings, Queensland batter Voll’s off-stump was knocked off while she was facing the Tasmanian pacer Vakarewa. The ball had pitched on a good length and was perfectly shaped to beat Voll’s outside edge and hit the stumps.

This is the point where it is usually expected that the batter starts walking away as celebrations begin. The fact that the on-field umpire as well as the bowler did not notice the bails falling off made this event even more peculiar.

After the delivery, Voll took a few steps towards her left as is usually done by all batters after a dot ball. The replay clearly showed the bails coming off which left the commentary team completely shocked by the non-decision.

Tasmania would have lost the match due to this brain-fade moment but it did not happen since Nicola Corey scored a fine century which helped the team win the match by 5 wickets.

Queensland, who were batting first, scored 223/6 in 48 overs. No batter could score big apart from Georgia Redmayne who scored 63 runs. Sarah Coyte scalped 3/40 in her overs and shone among the bowlers.

Advertisement

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Sunday, December 19, 2021, 05:55 PM IST
Advertisement