Double joy for Jennifer Josfina

Mumbai: Jennifer Josfina clinched double crowns winning the girls under-13 and under-15 singles finals of the Manora Badminton Academy Junior Badminton Tournament, hosted by Bombay Gymkhana and played at the gymkhana’s badminton courts on Sunday evening.m In the under-13 finals, Jennifer easily defeated Samprati Pothrabe 30-16 in the one game match. Jennifer later brushed aside the challenge from Riddhi Kandoi romping to a 30-20 victory to seal her second title.

Meanwhile, Vishwam Parekh and Raksha Kandasami claimed the boys’ and girls’ under-17 titles respectively. Vishwam Parekh played steadily too overcome Harshil Doshi 30-20 in the boys final, while Raksha breezed past Janhavi Chandrasekar winning by a comfortable 30-16 margin.

Results (all finals) – Girls’ Under-10: Riya Winherkar beat Tanvi Gharpure 30-23; Under-13: Jenifer Josfina beat Samprati Pothrabe 30-16; Under-15: Jenifer Josfina beat Riddhi Kandoi 30-20; Under-17: Raksha Kandasami beat Janhavi Chandrasekar 30-16.

Boys’ Under10: Dev Ruparelia beat Harshit Mahimkar 30-16; Boys’ Under-13: Parth Deore beat Pranit Somani 30-26; Boys’ Under-15: Malhar Joshi beat Harshil Doshi 30-24;Boys’ Under-17: Vishwam Parekh beat Harshil Doshi 30-20.

Saqib Rizvi Inter-College cricket from Wednesday
A total of 38 College teams will be participating in the 9th Saqib Rizvi Memorial Inter-Collegiate Rotating Trophy Cricket Tournament, organised by the Junior College’s Sports Association of Mumbai and sponsored by the Rizvi Education Society and scheduled to commence at the DPC and New Hind grounds, from Wednesday, January 16.

The tournament, to be conducted under the auspices of the Mumbai Cricket Association, will be inaugurated at the Dadkar Maidan, Matunga at 9.00am followed by the first round matches. Defending champions Rizvi College and last year’s runners-up Thakur College have been given first round byes.

The tournament will be played on a direct knock-out format and all the matches will be played according to the model rules of MCA relating to the conduct of the Cricket Tournament for Boys. The initial two rounds will be T-20 contests while from the pre-quarter-finals to the final will be an 45-overs a side match played over one day.

Yuvraj, Arya emerge champions
Second-seeded Yuvraj Yadav upset top-seed Yash Dalvi 3-1 (11-4, 11-8, 10-12, 11-8), while favourite Arya Ghag dropped a game before he prevailed over Manasi Jare 15-13, 11-13, 11-7, 11-6 to bag their respective boys and girls singles titles in the MSDTTA tournament. In the sub-junior boys, Sameer Basak beat Aryan Dave 11-7, 11-6, 13-11. While the corresponding final in the girls section was claimed by Bhoomi Pitale, who had to fight all the way before she beat Manasi Jare.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal