Narayan Patel (Right)
Narayan Patel (Right)

Counting of votes in 28 assembly constituencies in Madhya Pradesh, where voting was held on November 3 has begun. Nearly 68% turnout was recorded in 28 seats in Madhya Pradesh where the results will decide the fate of the seven-month-old BJP government.

Narayan Patel of BJP registered victory in Mandhata Constituency by 22,581 votes.

Congress MLAs Narayan Patel joins BJP in presence of Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and party State President VD Sharma at partys State headquarters in Bhopal on July 23.
Congress MLAs Narayan Patel joins BJP in presence of Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and party State President VD Sharma at partys State headquarters in Bhopal on July 23.

Giving a big jolt to the Congress, Narayan Patel, the MLA from Mandhata had joined BJP in Bhopal after resigning from his membership of the Legislative Assembly.

Patel joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the presence of Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and state party president Vishnu Dutt Sharma at the party office in Bhopal.

Previous winners of Legislative Assembly from Madhata Constituency:

2008- Lokendrasingh Tomar (BJP)

2013- Lokendrasingh Tomar (BJP)

2018- Narayan Patel (Indian National Congress)

The ruling BJP in Madhya Pradesh is leading in 20 of the 28 Assembly constituencies for which byelections were held while the Congress is ahead in seven seats, as per the trends of counting on Tuesday.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is leading in Morena constituency.

However, three ministers in the Shivraj Singh Chouhan government including Aidal Singh Kansana (Sumaoli), Girraj Dandotia (Dimani) and OPS Bhadoria (Mehgaon) are trailing behind their Congress rivals.

Bhadoria is trailing by only 175 votes.

Elsewhere, BJP candidates are leading in 20 seats by margins ranging from 181 votes (Agar) to 22,456 votes (Sanchi), while Congress contestants are ahead in Sumaoli, Dimni, Ambah, Mehgaon, Gohad, Karera and Biora constituencies.

Tulsiram Silawat of the BJP is leading by a margin of 9,554 votes from Sanver against his Congress rival.

BJP candidates are ahead in Gwalior, Gwalior East, Dabra, Bhander, Pohari, Bamori, Ashok Nagar, Mugaoli, Surkhi, Bada Malhera, Anuppur, Sanchi, Agar, Hatpiplya, Mandhata, Nepanagar, Badnawar, Saver, Suwasara and Jaura seats.

A total of 355 candidates, including 12 ministers, had contested the byelections held on November 3 for which a voter turnout of 70.27 per cent was recorded.

The stakes are high for the Congress too as it had sitting MLAs in 27 seats out of 28 in the state. Twenty-five of them had resigned early this year and joined the BJP after a rebellion by Jyotiraditya Scindia, leading to the collapse of the Kamal Nath Government.

They are now in the fray as BJP candidates, while in three other seats the by-election was necessitated due to the demise of the sitting legislators.

Exit polls have predicted favourable result for the BJP. According to India Today-Axis My India exit poll, the BJP government in Madhya Pradesh will survive as it projected the party to win 16-18 seats, and Congress is estimated to bag 10-12 of the total 28 seats that went to polls.

Here is the list of seats in Madhya Pradesh where bypolls were held:

  1. Joura

  2. Sumawali

  3. Morena

  4. Dimani

  5. Ambah (SC)

  6. Mehgaon

  7. Gohad (SC)

  8. Gwalior

  9. Gwalior East

  10. Dabra (SC)

  11. Bhander (SC)

  12. Karera (SC)

  13. Pohari

  14. Bamori

  15. Ashok Nagar (SC)

  16. Mungaoli

  17. Surkhi

  18. Malhara

  19. Anuppur (ST)

  20. Sanchi (SC)

  21. Biaora

  22. Agar (SC)

  23. Hatpipliya

  24. Mandhata

  25. Nepanagar (ST)

  26. Badnawar

  27. Sanwer (SC)

  28. Suwasra

The counting began at 8 AM as per the Election Commission's COVID-19 guidelines which restrict the number of people who can be present in the counting halls, officials said, adding extensive measures have been taken to ensure social distancing.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal