Indore sports update: World junior tennis championship highlights

Challenges galore for TTFI and organisers

The UTT 82nd Cadet & Sub-Junior National Table Tennis Championship at Abhay Prashal will begin on February 26. It will be inaugurated by MP Shankar Lalwani. OnThursday, tournament manager N Ganeshan, Mangesh Mopkar and S Sridhar inspected the stadium and satisfied with the arrangements. During it, Govrav Patel and Neelesh Vaid were also present.

There are 114 Cadet Girls and 130 entries in the Sub-Junior category from 34 states, while it is 123 in the Cadet Boys and 140 in the Sub-Junior sections. With only 12 tables to be used, the tournament will have a different aura but equally challenging for the technical officials who will have to maintain strict guidelines and follow the SOPs and make things comfortable for the participants. Competition manager N Ganeshan assured that he would see that the matches don’t go beyond the 8 p.m. schedule as the players will get adequate practice time before the matches.

Stag America’s table with black top and balls will be in use during the championships. Mangesh Mopkar will be the chief referee and he will have the assistance of about 50 Blue Badge and international umpires.

Balaji cup sub junior ranking badminton from March 4

The Balaji Cup, Indore district sub junior ranking Badminton Competition, organized under the joint aegis of Indore District Badminton Organization and Balaji Badminton Academy, will be held from March 4 in which 11, 13 and 15 years boys and girls will participate. Indore district badminton organization secretary RP Singh Nayyar and Deepali Khamrola, director of Balaji Badminton Academy, said that singles and doubles matches will be played on 4 courts of Balaji Badminton Academy in Nipania, Competition Secretary Subhash Khamrola informed that entries in the competition can be given to Prashant Upadhyay, Associate Dharmesh Yashlha, Vishal Chandwani, Vinay Ramchandani, Rajneesh Jain, Shalini Pardesi, Mayank Sharma, Ruby Nayyar by March 1,

International World Tennis Tour Junior ITF Grade-5 Tennis Championship: Aman, Sanjeet, Dhruv Balak ,Vaishnavi, Saina, Lakshmi Prabha, Navya in last-4 of girls category. Denim shows strong performance in semi-finals

Due to his strong performance, Denim Yadav of Indore entered the semi-finals of the boys' singles of International World Tennis Tour Junior ITF Grade-5 Tennis Championship being played at Indore Tennis Club on Thursday. In the boys category top seeded Aman Dahiya, second seeded Sanjeet Devineni and Dhruv Hirpara and in the girls category, Vaishnavi Adkar, Navya Vedalamudi, Lakshmi Prabha and Saina Deshpande secured the place in the last four. In the girls' doubles, local player Amishi lost in the semi-finals. In the first quarterfinal of the boys' singles Denim Yadav took full advantage of his home ground to beat Manav Jain of India in straight sets 6-2, 6 -3. Third seeded denim looked in good rhythm. He performed a great forehand and volley.

Maruri sisters to face Vaishnavi-Gargi in girls doubles final

The title of the girls doubles will be played between top seeded Reshma and Suhitha Maruri and second seeded Vaishnavi Adkar and Gargi Pawar. In the semi-finals, Reshma and Suhaitha defeated local players Amishi Shukla and Pari Singh 6-3, 6-4. In the second semi-final, Vaishnavi and Gargi defeated fourth-seeded Vidhi Jain and Pavithra Parikh 6–0, 6–3.In the boys' doubles, the third seeded America's Ayush Bhatt and Diamond Vora knocked in the final in a big upset. In the semi-finals, Ayush and Heerak Vora defeated top seeded Aman Dahiya and Arnagh Ganguly 6-4, 6-1. Now Aayush and Diamond will face second seeded pair of Sanjeet Devineni and Manav Jain of America. Devineni and Jain defeated Arjun Gohad and Jaishnav Shinde 6-3, 6-4 in the semi-finals.

Doubles final match from 3 pm today

General Secretary of Tennis Association of India Anil Dhupar informed that the final matches of the boys and girls doubles will be played on Friday, February 26, from 3 pm. After this, the prize distribution will be in the main hospitality of DIG Manish Kapoor. The semi-finals of the singles will be played in the morning session.

Kuldeep Hardia to lead NBA team

All India Sankey Hardia Memorial basketball tournament will be held in the Basketball Complex. The NBA team, which will participate, has been announced on Thursday. The team: Kuldeep Hardia (Captain), Rajinder Singh, Siddhant ,Yakib Khan, Virat Dhakad, Aneesh Tomar, Ashish Jwala, Dinesh Agarwal, Dev Patel, Rahul, SandeepDodiya and Awadesh Pal. Coach Harjinder Singh, Vinod Nair Manager.

The tournament will be inaugurated on February 26 at 5:00 pm in the basketball complex. DGP Dr. Rajendra Mishra, Tejendra Singh Biji, MLA Mahendra Hardia and Amardeep Maurya will be present as guests.

District Sub-Junior and junior competition from today

District sub- junior and junior badminton tournament will be held at New Badminton Academy from February 26. The academy is built on the lines of the world-famous Gopichand Academy Hyderabad.The city's first five-court badminton academy is being commissioned by the Badminton World Federation (BWF) approved Yonex Court. World class facilities have been provided in this academy, which will help to advance the state and outside players.Academy Director and Tournament Secretary Malhari Kale and Astitva Kale said that this academy is being started in the name of 168 Badminton Club, Indus Satellite Green, Calodhala, Dewas Naka, inaugurating the badminton competitions of Indore District Badminton Association. More than 160 players have entered the competition. In this, singles and doubles of boys and girls in Under-15, 17 and 19 category will be played from 9 am.

Vardhaman Jain Yuva Manch Cricket: Firing Squad win cricket title

Shri Vardhman Jain Yuva Manch organised a Sadbhavana cricket competition at Janki Nagar situated IPS School Ground recently. During final, international cricketer Naman Ojha, IPS Director Achal Choudhary, Anoop Kumar Bapna, Mukandchand Mehta, Parsmal Betala, Ratanchand Surana, Suresh Surana, Dilsukhraj Kataria were specially present. The Firing Squad beat Mangalam team and clinched the trophy.

Manch President Kantilal Mehta and Publicity Secretary Naveen Jain Lalwani said that a total of 15 matches were played under the guidance of Shikharchand Bapna and Dharmachand Chairadia. Arihant Challani, Deepak Mehta, Ashwin Lunawat, Shreyans Surana, Bhavya Nahar, Yash Lunawat and Aditya Chopra contributed their valuable time significantly. The umpires were Praveen Betala and Durgesh Yadav.

According to Publicity Ministers Naveen Lalwani and Padam Challani, all 15 matches were quite interesting. All of these players belonged to the teams of the society and two consecutive matches were played. The winning team was given attractive prizes courtesy of prominent sponsors Prem Ved and Study Square along with other socialists, while other teams were also rewarded. Kovid-19 rules were strictly followed during the game. Guests also praised the event and the spirit of the game.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal