Lok Sabha elections 2019 live updates: Voting concludes for Phase 5 in 51 constituencies across 7 states

A total of 51 seats spread across seven states across north and east India are scheduled to vote in the fifth phase today, with Rae Bareli and Amethi seats in Uttar Pradesh among the most watched contests. Of the seats going to polls on Monday, 14 are in Uttar Pradesh, 12 in Rajasthan, seven each in West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh, five in Bihar, four in Jharkhand and two in Jammu and Kashmir, including Anantnag, where the third and final phase of polling will be held.

This phase will see voting in many high-profile seats. In Uttar Pradesh, both Rae Bareli and Amethi, which are traditional Congress strongholds, will witness a heated contest between Congress and BJP. In Rae Bareli, United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, who has held the seat from 2004, will face former Congress leader Dinesh Pratap Singh of the BJP. In Amethi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi will again face Union Minister Smriti Irani.

Here are the Live Updates for fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019:

Jaipur: Voting concludes for the 5th phase of LokSabha Election 2019 in

2.00 pm: Mahendra Singh Dhoni casts his vote at a polling booth in Jawahar Vidya Mandir in Ranchi, Jharkhand.

1.30pm: Sahara chief Subrata Roy casts his vote at a polling booth in Lucknow.

1:19 pm: Voting percentage till 1 PM: Bihar- 24.49, Jammu and Kashmir- 6.54, Rajasthan- 33.82, Madhya Pradesh- 31.46, Uttar Pradesh- 26.53, West Bengal- 39.55 and Jharkhand- 37.24. Total- 31.29%.

12:26 pm: Narsinghpur: Actor Ashutosh Rana after casting his vote at polling booth number 105 in Gadarwara.

11:20 am: Madhya Pradesh: A man in Chhatarpur arrives to vote, after his father’s last rites earlier today. #LokSabhaElections2019

10:41 am: Voting percentage till 10 am: Bihar-11.51, J&K-1.36, Madhya Pradesh-13.18,
Rajasthan-14, UP- 9.85, West Bengal-16.56, Jharkhand-13.46. Total-12.65%

10:22 am: Bihar: One Ranjit Paswan arrested on charges of vandalizing an EVM machine at polling booth number 131 in Chhapra.

10:17 am: Smriti Irani: I tweeted an alert to administration and EC(alleging booth capturing in Amethi), hope they take action. People of the country have to decide whether this kind of politics of Rahul Gandhi should be punished or not.

9:43 am: Jharkhand: Union Minister and BJP candidate from Hazaribagh, Jayant Sinha arrives at a polling booth to cast his vote. Sinha is contesting against Congress’ Gopal Sahu & CPI’s Bhubneshwar Prasad Mehta from the constituency.

9.15 am: Jharkhand: A man arrived with his 105-year-old mother to cast votes at polling booth number 450 in Hazaribagh.

9.00 am: Smriti Irani,BJP candidate from Amethi on Priyanka Gandhi Vadra: She did not know my name 5 years back, now she keeps taking my name, such an accomplishment. Nowadays she takes her husband’s name less and my name more.

9.00 am: Smriti Irani: A person died as he was denied treatment at hospital where Rahul Gandhi is trustee,in Amethi just because he had Ayushman Bharat card. Ye parivaar itna ghinona hai ki ek nirdosh ko maut ke ghat utarne ko taiyar hai sirf isliye kyunki unhe apni rajneeti pyari hai.

8.45 am: Jharkhand: Visuals from a polling booth in St.Anne’s Girls High School in Ranchi.

8.30 am: West Bengal: Arjun Singh, BJP candidate from Barrackpore alleges that he was attacked by TMC workers, says,”I was attacked by TMC goons who have been brought from outside. Those people were scaring away our voters. I am injured.”

8.15 am: BSP Chief Mayawati casts her vote at a polling booth in City Montessori Inter College in Lucknow.

8.00 am: Jammu and Kashmir: Visuals from polling booth 66 in Govt High School in Pulwama( Anantnag Lok Sabha seat).

7.45 am: Home Minister and Lucknow BJP Candidate Rajnath Singh casts his vote at polling booth 333 in Scholars’ Home School.

7.45 am: West Bengal: Voting yet to begin in booth numbers 289/ 291/292 in Howrah, reportedly after glitches in EVMs and VVPATs. Details awaited.

7.40 am: Rajasthan: Union Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and his wife Gayatri Rathore arrive at a polling station in Jaipur to cast their vote.

7.30 am: Saran: Elderly man on a wheelchair brought to a polling booth in Chhapra.

7.20 am: Rajasthan: Visuals from a polling booth in Jaipur.

7.10 am: Hazaribagh: Former Union Min Yashwant Sinha & wife Nilima Sinha arrive at a polling booth to cast vote for Lok Sabha Elections 2019. His son & Union Minister Jayant Sinha is contesting against Congress’ Gopal Sahu & CPI’s Bhubneshwar Prasad Mehta from the constituency.

7.00 am: Voting begins in 51 Parliamentary constituencies across 7 states for 5th phase of  

6.45 am: Voters queue up outside a polling station in Ayodhya; Voting in 51 parliamentary constituencies across 7 states for 5th phase

6.45 am: Bihar: Visuals from a model polling booth in Saran; Voting in 51 parliamentary constituencies across 7 states for 5th phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 to begin shortly

6.40 am: Visuals from a polling booth in Amethi; Congress President Rahul Gandhi and Union Minister Smriti Irani are contesting for the Lok Sabha seat

6.30 am: Chhatarpur: Residents of Garauli village held protests y’day saying they would boycott Lok Sabha Elections 2019 due to inaction on issue of water scarcity in the area; locals say, “we walk 3-4 km daily to collect water. Protested last yr as well but nobody pays heed”.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal