Bhopal: Shahdol, Nepanagar by-poll results today


Ronak Mastakar | Updated on: Thursday, May 30, 2019, 11:11 AM IST


BHOPAL: The results of Shahdol Lok Sabha and Nepanagar Assembly bye-polls would be announced on Tuesday. The BJP has fielded minister for tribal welfare Gyan Singh against Congress’ Himadri Singh in Shahdol while in Nepanagar, BJP’s Manju Dadu is pitted against Congress’ Antar Singh. The counting of votes would begin in both the constituencies at 8 am and results are expected by afternoon. The outcome of these bypolls, held amid Prime Minister Modi’s demonetisation move, is being considered significant. Along with Shahdol and Nepanagar, bye-polls were also held in three Lok Sabha constituencies and seven Assembly constituencies  across the country.

Besides Madhya Pradesh, bye-polls were held in two Lok Sabha and one Assembly constituency in West Bengal, one Lok Sabha and one Assembly constituency in Assam and one assembly constituency each in Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura and Puducherry.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. To receive it on Telegram, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Tuesday, November 22, 2016, 07:32 AM IST