Bhopal: 22 ministers of Kamal Nath cabinet failed miserably to garner votes for Congress candidate in parliament elections. Congress Lok Sabha candidates lost even in speaker and deputy speaker’s assembly constituencies. Known as motormouth ministers of Kamal Nath cabinet- Jitu Patwari, Tulsi Silawat, Sajjan Verma- all failed CM- who had warned all ministers that safety of their ministerial berth will depend on their performance in Lok Sabha elections. Finance minister Tarun Bhanot failed to help Vivek Tankha win Jabalpur Lok Sabha seat. Tankha was trailing behind by 84,252 votes in Bhanot’s constituency.

Pankaj Sanghvi was defeated from Indore by a margin of more than 5.47 lakh votes- this includes a gap of 79,931 votes- that Sanghvi suffered in higher education minister Jitu Patwari’s Rau assembly constituency. Known to be a vocal minister who expresses his opinion in all matters, health minister Tulsi Silawat, could only contribute to Sanghvi’s defeat who remained behind in his assembly constituency Sanwer by 67,446. School education minister Prabhuram Chowdhary too failed to save Congress’ Shailendra Patel- who was defeated by a margin of more than 5 lakhs. Patel trailed by 69,781 votes in school education minister’s assembly constituency Sanchi. Ministers Priyavrat Singh, Pradyumn Singh failed Congress by a margin of more than 50,000 thousands votes in their assembly constituencies Khilchipur and Gwalior.

Performance of ministers Sajjan Verma, PC Sharma, Harsh Yadav, Jaivardhan Singh and Brijendra Rathore too remained miserable as Congress lok sabha candidates lacked behind in their assembly constituencies by more than 40,000 votes. Assembly areas of ministers where the LS candidates lagged by a margin of more than 30,000 include Vijaylaxmi Sadho, Sachin Yadav and Govind Rajput. Other ministers in whose assembly constituencies, Congress Lok Sabha candidates had suffered setback include Pradeep Jaiswal, Hukum Karada, Bala Bachhan, Kamleshwar Patel, Govind Singh, Mahendra Sisodia and Lakhan Ghangoria. Speaker NP Prajapati representing Gotegaon assembly could not help Congress candidate in his area. Mandla Congress’ candidate Kamal Singh suffered a loss by a margin of 45,736 votes in Gotegaon. Deputy speaker Hina Kanwre lagged behind in her assembly constituency by 31,589 votes.