Bhopal: Congress eyes four Lok Sabha seats in BJP fort

Bhopal: Congress is brainstorming to fly its flag in the four Lok Sabha constituencies Bhopal, Indore, Jabalpur and Gwalior of Madhya Pradesh. Congress, which currently is holding three Lok Sabha seats- Guna, Chhindwara and Ratlam- Jhabua seats, is eyeing all 29 seats this time in upcoming general elections to be held in coming three months.

The state election coordination committee meeting is scheduled on Thursday and the members will decide the candidates for the LS elections. The panel of names will be sent to the IACC election committee. The LS seats of Bhopal, Indore, Gwalior, Sagar, Jabalpur, Satna and many others have not been won by Congress for decades.

Indore and Bhopal are the seats where the Congress is out of power since 1989, in Bhopal KN Pradhan was the last Congress member of parliament, he had won the election in the year 1984. Similarly, Indore LS seat was won by the Congress, PC Sethi in the year 1984, since then BJP MP has been representing the seat in the Parliament.

Satna LS seat is also having the similar history, Congress leader Arjun Singh had won it in 1991 thereafter, BSP won the next election 1996. The seat came to BJP fold in 1998 and again in 2014. Shawran Kumar Patel was the last Congress MP in 1991 from Jabalpur LS constituency; after that BJP leaders have been winning the seat and currently BJP state president Rakesh Singh is representing the constituency.

The last election from Gwalior LS was won by the Ram Sewak Singh of the Congress party in the year 2004 and in the next election and thereafter, the people have been sending BJP elader to parliament from the constituency. Congress state media vice president Bhupendra Gupta claimed that BJP influence is on decline in the state as well as in the nation and this will help the Congress.

“The party is targeting all 29 LS seats and has appointed LS in-charges. These incharges are preparing report and also looking for the suitable winnable candidate seat-wise”. Modi magic is on decline and people have come to know the reality of the BJP candidates, said Gupta, adding that Congress numbers will be much higher in the Lok Sabha elections here.

The BJP parliamentarians have been ignoring their constituencies as Sushma Swaraj the external affairs minister who represents Vidisha constituency never visited the constituency after winning the elections.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal