Asian Games : Odisha announces Rs 1 crore for 4  hockey players

Bhubaneswar : Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik Saturday announced cash prize of Rs one crore each for the four players from the state in Indian Women Hockey team which bagged a silver medal.

Patnaik announced the award for the four players were in recognition of their achievements, said an official in Chief Minister’s Office (CMO).

The four players from Odisha in the team, which played in the final of Asian Games after a gap of 20 years, are Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Nilima Minz and Deep Grace Ekka, the official said.

Odisha is the proud sponsor of the Indian National Hockey Team. The state has always promoted hockey and is also the host of the World Men’s Hockey Cup, 2018, a statement from the CMO said.

As per the revised sports policy of the state, the coach will also get an award.

The Indian women hockey team’s dream of reclaiming the gold at the Asian Games after 36 years remained unfulfilled as it lost 1-2 to Japan to settle for the silver medal at Jakatra on Friday.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal