Palghar Municipal election results 2019: Shiv Sena-BJP alliance wins 21 of 28 seats

Palghar: The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance on Monday won the Palghar Municipal Council election 2019. The saffron alliance’s victory was seen as a litmus test, as it comes ahead of the upcoming LS election.

Of the 28 seats, the Sena-BJP combine won 21, the Indepen­dents (Shiv Sena rebels) got five and the NCP emerged victori­ous on two seats. The Shiv Sena has also grabbed the post of Palghar Municipal Council president. As many as 47,850 voters exercise their franchise.

The big brother, BJP had fielded its candidates on eight seats, alliance’s junior, the Shiv Sena contested on 18 seats. The partners had already won two seats unopposed. Several Sena leaders, who could not get tickets, had jumped in the fray as Independents.

Palghar Nagar Parishad Results 2019
Shiv Sena + BJP: 21 seats
(Sena emerged victor on 14 of the 19 contested seats. Of the nine seats it contested, the BJP won 7.)

NCP + Congress: 2 seats
Others: 5 seats

Palghar Municipal Council president: Former NCP leader Dr Ujjwala Kale, who had joined Shiv Sena, wins.
The Palghar Municipal Council was earlier ruled by the Sena.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal