Only 8 non-BJP ruling states make it to Republic Day parade

After committee rejected Maharashtra and West Bengal governments' tableau proposals, now screening committee rejected Kerala government's tableau proposal for the Republic Day parade on January 26.

On Thursday, the Defence Ministry said that 22 proposals comprising of 16 States and Union Territories and six ministries and departments had been shortlisted for participation in the parade after a series of five meetings. "For the Republic Day Parade 2020, 56 tableaux proposals, 32 from States and Union Territories and 24 from ministries and departments, were received," the statement said.

According to Indian Express, the states included in the list are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh, along with the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade, Department of Drinking Water and Sanitation, Department of Financial Services, NDRF Ministry of Home Affairs, CPWD Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, and Ministry of Shipping.

Out of these on 8 non-BJP ruling states proposal for the Republic Day parade on January 26 has been accepeted. The 8 non-BJP ruling states are Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan and Telangana.

The list comes a day after the Trinamool Congress (TMC), Shiv Sena, NCP and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Thursday hit out at the government after the tableau proposals of West Bengal, Maharashtra and Bihar were rejected.

In a statement Defence Ministry has said that, "The expert committee examines the proposals on the basis of theme, concept, design and its visual impact before making its recommendations. Due to time constraints arising out of the overall duration of the parade, only a limited number of tableaux can be shortlisted for participation in the parade."

The Trinamool Congress, Shiv Sena and the NCP slammed the Centre on Thursday after it rejected West Bengal and Maharashtra's tableau proposals for the Republic Day Parade, alleging that the BJP-led Union government has insulted the people of the two states.

The TMC said by rejecting Bengal's proposal, the Centre insulted the people of the state for opposing the amended citizenship law. NCP and Shiv Sena claimed prejudice against Maharashtra. NCP leader Surpiya Sule accused the Centre of being "prejudiced". She said Bengal and Maharashtra had played a key role in the freedom struggle and the decision to deny permission to their tableaux was an "insult" to the people. Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut wondered whether there was a political conspiracy behind the decision.

(Inputs from Agencies)

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal