Artist Unite India/ Instagram
Artist Unite India/ Instagram

After 103 filmmakers came together to issue a statement against Bharatiya Janata Party, now over 600 theater artistes have issued a similar statement against the governing party.

The statement released in 12 languages on April 4, include support artistes like, Anurag Kashyap, Konkona Sen Sharma, Amol Palekar, Dolly Thakore, Girish Karnad, Lillete Dubey, Naseeruddin Shah, Ratna Pathak Shah, Mahesh Dattani, MK Raina, Chandana Roy Sanyal and Sanjna Kapoor.

The statement urges people to not vote for the BJP in the upcoming elections but to protect and empower the weak, our liberty, and environment.

The statement reads, “Today, that very idea of India is under threat. Today, song, dance, laughter is under threat. Today, our beloved Constitution is under threat. The institutions that have to nurture argument, debate and dissent have been suffocated. To question, to call out lies, to speak the truth, is branded ‘anti-national’. The seeds of hatred have entered our food, prayers and festivals,”

The complete statement and list of 616 signatories is available to public on the website Similar filmmakers appeal is also available for viewing on the same website.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal