BJP CM candidate Sonowal, 41 other contestants file nomination papers

Guwahat: 42 contestants, including BJP chief ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal, filed their nomination papers today for the first phase of Assam Assembly elections scheduled on April 4. The contestants included a woman nominee of the CPI(ML)(L), besides candidates from BJP, AIUDF, Asom Gana Parishad, CPI(M), CPI, SUCI, Liberal Democratic Party and Independents, a release by the Chief Electoral Officer’s (CEO) office said late tonight.

BJP state unit president Sonowal filed his nomination papers from Majuli.

Voting will be held for 65 of the 126 Assembly constituencies spread across Barak Valley, the two hill districts of Dima Hasao and Karbi Anglong, besides upper Assam
in the Brahmaputra Valley. The last date for filing nominations is March 18, the next
day is the date for scrutiny of nominations and March 21 the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal