The Meta-owned messaging app is reportedly blocking screenshots for ‘View Once’ images and videos. The updated feature will also block users from screen recording these messages. According to WaBetaInfo, the updated beta version beta 22.214.171.124 for iOS users and beta 126.96.36.199 for Android phones are available for the beta testers to install.
This new view once feature is limited to a number of beta testers and there have been no official announcements regarding the release date of the stable version of this tool for everyone to use.
According to WaBetaInfo, if any user tries taking a screenshot, the image will be black.
For iOS beta users | WaBetaInfo
For Android Users | WaBetaInfo
Once the feature is enabled a toast will show up but, even if a third-party extension is used to bypass the security policy, the image will always be black.
However, there are no restrictions on taking screenshots of conversations even if they contain some disappearing messages as the new feature is only limited to view once images and videos. A secondary mobile device may still be used by the recipient to take a photo. Therefore, viewing once messages should be sent with caution.
WhatsApp had introduced the view once feature earlier this year, and with this addition to the feature it should be more secure.
(If you have a story in and around Mumbai, you have our ears, be a citizen journalist and send us your story here. )