Maha government formation latest updates: Mumbai Police Commissioner meets Governor

Sanjay Raut tweets poem to take dig at BJP

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut tweeted a couplet this morning, apparently to take aim at the BJP. "There is no ground beneath your feat," the poem read. "What's surprising is that even so, you don't believe it".

'Wish to form a govt with Shiv Sena, Uddhav has said Fadnavis is a Shiv Sainik'

Sudhir Mungantiwar, a BJP leader, said his party wanted to form a government with the Shiv Sena; he added that Uddhav Thackeray had called Devendra Fadnavis a Shiv Sainik. Asked if the BJP would try to form a minority government, Mungantiwar said there was no such plan.

There will be a decision soon, Nitin Gadkari says

BJP leader Nitin Gadkari, who is scheduled to meet RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat amid Maharashtra power tussle, said that there will be a decision soon. "Government in Maharashtra should be formed under the leadership of Devendra Fadnavis ji," Gadkari said. The Union Minister also denied any mediation by RSS in the issue. "RSS and Mohan Bhagwat ji have no connection with this," he told reporters. Union Road and Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari also clarified that he has no plan of coming back to Maharashtra. "No question of me returning to Maharashtra, I will continue to work in Delhi," he said.

Sena MLAs authorise Uddhav to take 'final decision' on govt formation

The Shiv Sena MLAs on Thursday authorised party chief Uddhav Thackeray to take a "final decision" on government formation in Maharashtra. Thackeray chaired a meeting of all party MLAs at his residence 'Matoshree' in suburban Bandra, where the legislators also reiterated that the formula of "equal sharing of posts and responsibilities" agreed upon before the Lok Sabha polls should be implemented.

'BJP needs to accept 50 50 at the earliest': Abdul Sattar, Sena MLA

"BJP needs to accept 50 50 at the earliest or else they need to sit on opposition's chair", says Shiv Sena MLA Abdul Sattar.

Shiv Sena MLAs to be lodged in private hotel

The Shiv Sena has decided to shift all its 65 legislators to a private sea-facing hotel in suburban Bandra till the state political crisis is resolved, party sources said. The legislators are expected to be lodged at the Hotel Rangsharda near the Bandstand in Bandra West.

'Constitution is not BJP's personal property’: Sanjay Raut

Sanjay Raut of Shiv Sena says that the party has the numbers to make their own Chief Minister. “We have the numbers to make our own Chief Minister, we don't need to show that here, we will show that on the floor of the house. We have alternatives, we don't speak without options and alternatives,” Raut said.

"If you (BJP) have the numbers,form the government. If you don't have the numbers then admit it. Constitution is for the people of this country,it is not their (BJP's) personal property.We know the constitution well. We'll form CM of Shiv Sena in Maharashtra constitutionally," he added.

Sanjay Raut on hotel hopping 

Downplaying the Sena's decision to shift all its MLAs to a hotel in suburban Bandra, Raut said, "Not all legislators have homes in Mumbai. So, the party has decided to ensure they get facilities under one roof." After Thackeray chaired a meeting of the Sena MLAs at his residence here, all the legislators were shifted to Rangsharda Hotel in suburban Bandra, amid the political uncertainty and fear of cross over. Raut also said that there is no change in the Shiv Sena's stand on government formation and all the legislators support Uddhav Thackeray.

Mumbai Police Commissioner Sanjay Barve meets with Maharashtra Governor at Raj Bhavan

Police Commissioner of Mumbai, Sanjay Barve met with Maharashtra Governor, Bhagat Singh Koshyari at the Raj Bhavan, reports ANI.

Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi party chief Prakash Ambedkar, other party leaders meet Maharashtra Governor

Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi party chief Prakash Ambedkar along with other party leaders met Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari, today, to discuss the prevailing political situation in the state, reports ANI.

Union Ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal, Giriraj Singh, Santosh Gangwar leave after meeting BJP working president JP Nadda

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal