Union Cabinet expansion: From Jyotiraditya Scindia to Anurag Thakur, here's full list of 43 ministers to take oath today

As part of a major Union Cabinet Expansion, 43 leaders will be sworn in as Union Ministers on Wednesday evening.

The list includes BJP leaders Jyotiraditya Scindia, Pashupati Kumar Paras, Bhupender Yadav, Anupriya Patel, Shobha Karandlaje, Meenakshi Lekhi, Ajay Bhatt, Anurag Thakur.

Here's the full list of ministers to be swon-in today:

1. Narayan Tam Rana

2. Sarbananda Sonowal

3. Dr. Virendra Kumar

4. Jyotiraditya M Sandia

5. Ramchandra Prasad Singh

6. Ashwini Vaishnaw

7. Pashu Pati Kumar Paras

8. Kiren Rijiju

9. Raj Kumar Singh

10. Hardeep Singh Puri

11. Mansukh Mandaviya

12. Bhupender Yadav

13. Parshottam Rupala

14. G. Kishan Reddy

15. Anurag Singh Thakur

16. Pankaj Choudhary

17. Anupriya Singh Patel

18. Dr. Satya Pal Singh Baghel

19. Rajeev Chandrasekhar

20. Sushri Shobha Karandlaje

21. Mann Pratap Singh Venna

22. Darshana Vikram Jardosh

23. Meenakshi Lekhi

24. Annapurna Devi

25. A. Narayanaswamy

26. Kaushal Kishore

27. Ajay Bhatt

28. B. L. Verma

29. Ajay Kumar

30. Chauhan Devusinh

31. Bhagwanth Khuba

32. Kapil Moreshwar Pahl

33. Sushri Pratima Bhoumik

34.Dr. Subhas Sarkar

35.Dr. Bhagwat Kishanrao Karad

36.Dr. Rajkumar Ranjan Singh

37. Dr. Bharati Pravan Pawar

38. Bishweswar Tudu

39. Shantanu Thakur

40. Dr. Mumapara Mahendrabhar

41. John Barla

42. Dr. L. Murugan

43. Nisith Praraamk

The expansion is slated to take place at 6.00 pm on Wednesday. Most National Democratic Alliance (NDA) leaders including Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP President JP Nadda, Minister of State for Finance Anurah Thakur along with BJP leaders Meenakshi Lekhi, Sarbananda Sonowal, GK Reddy, Kiren Rijiju, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Parshottam Rupala, Nisith Pramanik, Apna Dal leader Anupriya Patel. Janata Dal (United) leader RCP Singh, and Lok Janshakti Party leader Pashupati Paras, among others, attended the meeting at 7, Lok Kalyan Marg The reshuffle and expansion of the Union Council of Ministers, the first in the second term of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Ahead of a cabinet reshuffle, many Union ministers, including Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal "Nishank" and Chemicals and Fertilisers Minister D V Sadananda Gowda, resigned on Wednesday.

Besides Pokhriyal and Gowda, who were cabinet ministers, Labour Minister Santosh Gangwar, Minister of State for Education Sanjay Dhotre and Minister of State for Women and Child Development Debasree Chaudhuri have also quit.

Pokhriyal, who tested positive for COVID-19 on April 21, was admitted to the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) here in June again following post-Covid complications. He has resigned from his post citing health reasons, sources said. The former Uttarakhand chief minister took charge as the HRD Minister in May 2019.

Dhotre, who represents the Akola Lok Sabha constituency in Maharashtra, also took charge as the MoS for Education, Communications and Electronics and Information Technology in May 2019.

Chaudhuri submitted her resignation in the morning, one of her close aides said. She was elected to the Lok Sabha from West Bengal's Raiganj constituency in the 2019 general elections.

Asked whether he has resigned from the post of Labour Minister, Gangwar answered in the affirmative. "Yes, I have resigned," he told PTI.

Gangwar said he is not aware what his new role in the government will be.

This will be the first reshuffle in the Council of Ministers by Prime Minister Narendra Modi since he assumed charge for a second term in May 2019.

The prime minister is expected to bring in young faces and give representation to various social groups and regions in the reshuffle.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal