Photo: Khushbu Sundar/Twitter
Photo: Khushbu Sundar/Twitter

Ahead of the highly anticipated assembly polls in Tamil Nadu, the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP ) released the list of candidates who will be contesting from different constituencies in the state. The saffron party released name of its 20 candidates in the list. The party shall be conducting elections in 20 constituencies in the AIADMK alliance.

The state party president L Murugan will be contesting from Dharapuram constituency in Tirupur district. Senior leader H Raja will contest from Karaikudi," BJP national general secretary Arun Singh said in a press conference.

Vanathi Srinivasan will contest from Coimbatore South against Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) chief Kamal Hassan and Congress candidate Mayura S Jayakumara while Khushboo Sundar will contest from Thousand Lights in Chennai. Khushbu was with the DMK before she moved to the Congress. This is the first time she is contesting an election.

The big surprise was the party’s candidate for Madurai constituency. Hours after joining the BJP after quitting the DMK, Thiruparanakundram MLA Dr P Saravanan was given party ticket to contest the April 6 polls.

DMK has joined hands with Congress.

In the 2016 assembly elections, the AIADMK had won 134 seats, DMK bagged 80 seats and Congress had managed to secure only eight seats. The BJP drew a blank.

Elections to the 234-member Tamil Nadu assembly will be held on April 6 and the counting of votes will take place on May 2.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal