Picture for representation
Picture for representation

An Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader from Jammu and Kashmir's Doda has won the DDC polls from Kahara constituency in the district. Mehraj Din Malik claimed that he was the first leader from his party to win the DDC election in Jammu and Kashmir.

Malik, although a member of the AAP, did not contest on the party symbol and filed his nomination as an Independent. He is the head of Jammu Minority Unit head

While Malik amassed 6535 votes, his nearest rival from Congress could only get 3024 votes. The BJP candidate received 2211 votes while the National Conference nominee came fourth with 1588 votes.

The counting of votes for first-ever elections to the 288 District Development Councils (DDCs) in Jammu and Kashmir is still underway. The counting

People's Alliance for Gupkar Declaration (PAGD), led by Farooq Abdullah, has so far won or leading in 112 seats while the BJP has emerged as the single-largest party winning 74 seats.

DDC polls
DDC polls

Independents have also scored big in the polls, winning 49 seats.

The PAGD comprises of seven parties- Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (NC), People's Democratic Party (PDP), Hakeem Mohammad Yaseen Shah's Jammu and Kashmir People Democratic Front (PDF), Communist Party of India (Marxist), Javid Mustafa's Jammu and Kashmir People Movement (JKPM), Sajjad Lone's Jammu and Kashmir People's Conference (JKPC) and Muzaffar Shah's Awami National Conference.

According to the tally at 12:30 by by Jammu and Kashmir State Election Authority, NC won 67, PDP-27, PDF-2, CPIM-5, JKPM-3, JKPC-8 in the DDC elections which were held in eight phases.

Congress secured 26 seats, Altaf Bukhari's Jammu and Kashmir Apni Party registered victory on 12 seats while Independent candidates won on 49 seats.

Other parties include Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party (JKNPP) which won 2 seats while BSP secured one seat.

Jammu and Kashmir BJP chief Ravinder Raina said that his party has performed well and has a cleary majority in six districts in Jammu.

"BJP has performed well. We have a clear majority in six districts in Jammu. Many independents have won there. It was BJP versus all. I think the way we have come up suggests that we have won. Seven parties together were against BJP," Raina told ANI.

"In the coming times under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Jammu and Kashmir would flourish towards development. It is the first time in Jammu and Kashmir for BJP to emerge as the largest party. We will continue to move forward in the same path," he added.

Raina said that the people of the Union Territory has understood and agreed to BJP's will towards 'Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas'.

The polling was held over eight phases beginning November 28 and ending on December 19.

National Conference leader Omar Abdullah had said that the PAGD has been formed to ensure the rights of the people of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh are restored. "All of us united that the pre-August 5th, 2019 position must be restored," he added.

While Farooq Abdullah was chosen as president of the People's Alliance for Gupkar Declaration, Mehbooba Mufti was picked to play a role of vice-president.

(With PTI inputs)

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal