Ahead of Cabinet rejig, Centre announces list of new governors for Karnataka, Goa and others

Amid buzz of Union Cabinet expansion, the President appointed eight new governors on Tuesday. The major reshuffle ahead of the expected Cabinet reshuffle saw the appointment of Union Minister Thawarchand Gehlot as the Karnataka Governor.

Sources called the new appointments an exercise in according "respect and dignity to all" sections.

There are a "record number of Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe and Other Backward Class (OBC) governors, said sources.

Gehlot said he will be submitting my resignation from all three positions including Rajya Sabha MP & Union Minister of Social Justice & Empowerment tomorrow in person.

The list of other appointments is

Hari Babu Kambhampati as Governor of Mizoram

Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel as Governor of Madhya Pradesh

Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar as Governor of Himachal Pradesh

Mizoram Governor PS Sreedharan Pillai appointed as Goa Governor

Haryana Governor Satyadev Narayan Arya appointed as Tripura Governor

Tripura Governor Ramesh Bais appointed as Jharkhand Governor

Himachal Pradesh Governor Bandaru Dattatraya appointed as Haryana Governor

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal