Reserve Bank of India progress in team championships

Mumbai :  Reserve Bank Of India men and women advanced in the team championships of the 17th Inter-Institution National Carrom Championship on Monday.

RBI men scored a thumping 3-0 victory over LIC of India, while their women overcame BSNL 2-1. The Petroleum Sports Promotion Board’s men’s and women’s teams also sailed into the next round by outsmarting CAG and LIC by 3-0 and 2-1 margins respectively.

Also advancing to the next round in men’s section were BSNL, following a 2-1 victory over Central Civil Services Cultural Sports Board. CAG advanced in the women’s team championship, blanking Bank of India 3-0, along with NABARD who ousted CCSCSB 2-1.

In the men’s singles event, Yogesh Pardesi of PSPB blanked M P Saha of LIC 25-19 25-8 to advance to the third round. In another close encounter Ravi Waghmare of RBI defeated Vijayendra Singh of CCSCSB 25-0, 1-25, 25-4 to enter round three. Bank of Maharashtra’s Mahendra Tambe prevailed over LIC of India’s Surujuddin Ahamed 25-13, 25-20 to advance further.

Jain Irrigation’s former Federation Cup winner Pankaj Pawar defeated Vijay Marpelli of Bank of Maharashtra 25-10, 25-12, also to enter the third round. The tournament is being organised by the All India Carrom Federation, hosted by the Maharashtra Carrom Association and sponsored by Bank Of Maharashtra.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal