India all-rounder Axar Patel proves his worth

Mumbai : India limited-overs all-rounder Axar Patel showed his value in the shorter formats with a match-winning knock for his side Reliance 1 against Air India on the second day of the IDBI Federal Life Insurance DY Patil T20 tournament.

At the DY Patil Stadium, Axar (50: 29b, 4×4, 2×6) came in to bat with his side struggling at 66 for four in their chase of Air India’s 172-4. Axar added 75 runs for the fifth wicket with Yogesh Nagar (32) as Reliance 1 eked out a four-wicket win with one ball to spare. Earlier, Paul Valthaty (81: 58b, 5×4, 5×6) starred for Air India as they posted 172-4 in their 20 overs.

The match of the day however was the encounter between Tata Sports Club and the State Bank of Hyderabad which ended in a thrilling tie at the University Ground on Tuesday afternoon. Batting first, Tata Sports Club posted 191-5 in their 20 overs. Ian Dev Chouhan (50: 38b, 4×4, 1×6) top-scored for Tata. State Bank of Hyderabad started well in their chase. Openers T Suman (56: 23b, 6×4, 5×6) and Denay Devi Prince (34) added 70. There was a collapse thereafter as Wilkin Mota (3-31) and Aditya Dhumal (3-29) bowled tight spells.

When the last over in the State Bank of Hyderabad chase started they needeed six runs for a win with three wickets to spare. But after picking three runs off the first three deliveries, Mota struck dismissing S Anoop Pai off the fourth delivery. State Bank of Hyderabad needed three runs to win off two deliveries. Aflred Absolem picked two off the penultimate delivery, but was out off the last ball thereby forcing the match to end in a tie. In the other matches of the day, Jain Irrigation registered an impressive seven wicket win over Central Railway in the morning match at the University Ground.

The most impressive performance of the day was by DY Patil (A) as they were dominant in a nine wicket win over Indian Oil at the DY Patil Stadium in the afternoon.

Batting first Indian Oil was bowled out for 143. Nathu Singh (3-16) and leg-spinner Piyush Chawla (2-20) were the impressive performers for DY Patil (A). In their reply, DY Patil (A) romped home in style thanks to their openers Saurabh Wakaskar (63: 35b, 6×4, 3×6) and Swapnil Asnodkar (73 not out: 44b, 10×4, 1×6) adding 138 runs. India’s Under-19 World Cup hero Sarfaraz Khan was not required to show his skills as the DY Patil (A) openers completed the task quite easily.

Brief Scores

Group A: At DY Patil Stadium: Air India 172-4 in 20 overs (Paul Valthaty 81, Prashant Naik 41; Baltej Singh 2-33) lost to Reliance 1 177-6 in 19.5 overs (Axar Patel 50, Yogesh Nagar 32, Apoorv Wankhede 25 n.o.; Raunaq Sharma 3-31)-by four wickets

Group C: At University Ground: Central Railway 146-8 in 20 overs (Sanjog Binkar 26 n.o., Harshad Rawle 22, Amit Paunikar 22; Rakesh Prabhu 3-31, Samad Fallah 2-44) lost to Jain Irrigation 147-3 in 18.5 overs (Faiz Fazal 47, Jay Bista 33, Mansingh Nigde 25 n.o.)-by seven wickets

Group B: At DY Patil Stadium: Indian Oil 143 in 20 overs (Pinal Shah 40, Deepak Hooda 23; Nathu Singh 3-16, Piyush Chawla 2-20) lost to DY Patil (A) 144-1 in 13 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 63, Swapnil Asnodkar 73 n.o.)-by nine wickets

Group B: At University Ground: Tata Sports Club 191-5 in 20 overs (Ian Dev Chouhan 50, Hridayesh Pawar 48 n.o., Sujit Nayak 45;

tied with State Bank of Hyderabad 191-9 in 20 overs (T Suman 56, S Anoop Pai 44, Denay Devi Prince 34; Aditya Dhumal 3-29, Wilkin Mota 3-31)

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal