Updated on: Friday, November 26, 2021, 05:11 PM IST

Maharashtra Legislative Council elections: BJP's Rajhans Singh and Shiv Sena's Sunil Shinde elected unopposed for two seats in Mumbai

Representative Image
 | PTI

Representative Image | PTI


BJP's Rajhans Singh and Shiv Sena's Sunil Shinde have been elected unopposed in the Maharashtra Legislative Council elections for two seats in Mumbai.

In a surprise move, BJP nominee Amal Mahadik withdrew his nomination from Kolhapur which paved way for Congress nominee Satej Patil to be elected unopposed.

For Nandurbar-cum-Dhule seat, BJP nominee Amrish Patel has been elected unopposed to the MLC.

Meanwhile, BJP nominee Chandrashekhar Bawankule will be pitted against RSS worker Chhotu Bhoyar for the Nagpur seat, in the biennial election to the MLC slated for December 10. Bhoyar recently left the BJP to join Congress.

The term of office of the eight sitting members of the Maharashtra Legislative Council is going to expire on January 1 next year. The process of nominatiing members began from November 16.

The election is crucial for MVA to increase its strength as the Governor, despite cabinet’s recommendations sent last year, has not yet cleared a file pertaining to the nomination of 12 persons from his quota in the state council.

The sitting members whose terms are going to expire include Ramdas Kadam (Shiv Sena) and Bhai Jagtap (Congress) in Mumbai, Satej Patil (Congress) in Kolhapur, Amrishbhai Patil (BJP) in Dhule cum Nandurbar, Gopikisan Bajoriya (Shiv Sena) in Akola cum Buldhana cum Washim and Girish Vyas (BJP) in Nagpur.


(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Friday, November 26, 2021, 04:06 PM IST