Mumbai : Athletico Titans clinched the top honours defeating Somlands Juniors 6-4 via the tie-breaker in a tense and exciting Men’s First Division final of the 15th Bandra West Football League 2016, sponsored by Baba Siddique & Zeeshan Siddique and conducted by the BWFA (Bandra West Football Association) and played at the Dr. Norman Lewis Supari Talao, Municipal grounds. In a well contested summit clash the teams were locked 3-3 at the end of regulation time.

Sagar Bhurade, Arshad Sheikh and Vikram Naronha struck for Athletico Titans whereas a brace by Jefferey Fernandes and one from Ashish Jadhav got their names on the scoreboard for Somlands Juniors.  In the ensuing penalty shootout duel, Vivian Gonsalves, Rylind D’Monte and Sagar Bhurade found the net for Athletico Titans and only Bheem Bahdur could scored for Somlands Juniors.

The champions Athletico Titans received the winners’ trophy and a cash prize of Rs 15,000 from Congress leader Baba Siddique and Zeeshan Siddique. Somlands Juniors were presented with the runners-up trophy.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal