Dhar:  The election results are out and BJP won the Dhar parliamentary seat with a margin of 1,04,000 votes. If we look at the assembly constituency wise difference in the votes obtained by the winner and the runner-up candidates, some important questions arise, from these data.

In the assembly constituencies of Dhar, Mhow, Badnawar and Dharampuri the party obtained significant leads, like in Dhar the lead was 58,000 votes, in Mhow it was 45,000 votes, in Badnawar it was 20,000 votes and in Dharampuri it was 12,000 votes. These data are satisfactory for the party and also justifiable, as in these constituencies the party has won the assembly elections in the last year.

But, the more notable data are of Manawar, from where the former minister of ‘women & child welfare department’ Ranjna Baghel is the MLA of BJP; here the Congress obtained lead of 2000 votes. According to the local people, the reason was non-cooperation of Ranjna Baghel, as she did not want to see rise of any other woman leader of the party in Dhar. Hence, Baghel and her supporters themselves did not work for the party candidate Savitri Thakur; rather they may have worked against her.

Kukshi is the home town of Ranjna, but from here, her husband Mukamsingh Kirade had a shameful defeat by a margin of around 45,000 votes in the recent assembly elections. But, during the parliamentary poll campaign, Kukshi witnessed public meeting of Narendra Modi and the district leadership of the party also paid much attention here. Even then, Congress obtained a lead of 20,000 votes from here. However, less than the assembly polls, but it is significant.

In Sardarpur too, BJP has its MLA Velsingh Bhuria, but from here congress obtained lead of 10,000 votes, here also Congress workers remained more active than the BJP workers. In Gandhwani, the congress parliamentary candidate Umang Singhar himself is the MLA. He had won the assembly polls by a slender margin of only 112 votes and this time in parliamentary polls, he increased his lead by around 9,000 votes. Thus, Congress managed to get lead in four assembly constituencies, but in smaller numbers than BJP’s leads in the other four constituencies.

One significant reason of the defeat of Umang is his approach of ‘Ekla chalo re’, due to which he could not gather full support of all the congress leaders and workers and campaigned only with his loyalists. He also does not give enough response to media persons and the other influential persons of the society and in comparison to this the campaign management of BJP leaders, such as Vikram Verma and Ramesh Dhadiwal is much effective.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal