West Bengal Elections 2021 Live Updates: 75.06% voter turnout recorded

Voting begins across 34 constituencies for seventh phase of assembly polls

Voting in 34 constituencies spread across five districts of West Bengal began at 7 am on Monday for the seventh phase of the Assembly elections.

A total of 268 candidates, including 37 women are in the fray in this phase of the West Bengal elections. The phase will witness an intense battle in six constituencies in Dakshin Dinajpur, six in Malda, nine in Murshidabad, nine in Paschim Bardhaman and four in Kolkata.

Over 81.88 lakh electorates, including 39.87 lakh women and 221 third gender persons, would be casting their votes at as many as 11,376 polling stations. (ANI)

PM Modi urges people to follow COVID-19 norms while voting

People cast their votes: Visuals from Samsi Primary School in Ratua constituency of Malda district

'People of Ratua will go with BJP': Saffron party candidate after casting vote

TMC candidate from Bhabinapur Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay casts his vote

Extremely confident that Mamata Banerjee will be back with 2/3rd majority: Abhishek Banerjee

People queue up outside a polling booth in Murshidabad

TMC MP Nusrat Jahan casts her vote in Kolkata

17.95% voter turnout till 9.30 am

Polling agent wearing cap with Mamata's picture on it despite EC's regulations: BJP's Agnimitra Paul

37.72% voter turnout recorded till 11:30am

BJP polling agent alleges he was forcefully pushed out of booth by TMC members

55.12% voter turnout recorded till 1.30 pm

55.12 pc voter turnout till 2 pm

Amid a few skirmishes, the voter turnout for the seventh and penultimate phase of the high-stakes West Bengal election reached 55.12 per cent at 2 pm on Monday.

Among the districts, Murshidabad maintained the highest turnout with 60.53 percent, while Dakshin Dinajpur and Malda registered 58.96 per cent and 58.16 per cent respectively.

Bhagabangola recorded the highest percentage of voters among all constituencies at 62.65 per cent while Raninagar and Bhowanipore recorded 62.56 per cent and 41.97 per cent respectively. (ANI)

Mamata welcomes Madras HC order, demands withdrawal of central forces who may be infected with Covid

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Monday demanded withdrawal of central forces to contain covid spread in West Bengal in the next phase of polling, while welcoming the Madras High Courts observations that the Election Commission could not avoid blame for the spread of Covid.

"I welcome the Madras High Court order, which clearly said the EC cannot escape its responsibility. Both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and EC are responsible for the (current) situation (of Covid spreading in the state)," Banerjee alleged at a workers meeting in North Kolkata where party candidates and workers were present. (PTI)

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee shows victory symbol after she cast her vote at a polling station in Kolkata

75.06% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm

Voting for the seventh phase of the #WestBengalElections2021 concludes 

WB phase-VII polls: 75.06 pc voter turnout recorded till 6 pm

West Bengal recorded an approximate voter turnout of 75.06 per cent till 6 pm on Monday across 34 constituencies in five districts during the seventh phase of the state assembly polls, according to the Election Commission (EC).

Among the five districts, Murshidabad recorded the highest voter turnout of 80.37 per cent till 6 pm. Constituency-wise, Raninagar in the Murshidabad district recorded the highest voter turnout of 84.35 per cent followed by Bhagabangola at 83.50 per cent. Rashbehari constituency in Kolkata witnessed the lowest voter turnout at 55.93 per cent.

Peaceful polling held in 11,376 polling Stations across 34 ACs in Phase 7 of the West Bengal Assembly elections: ECI

75.06 pc turnout registered in phase 7 of WB Assembly polls

A total of 75.06 per cent voter turnout was registered on Monday in phase seven of the West Bengal Assembly polls, the Election Commission said.

The poll panel noted that the turnout figures were provisional and were recorded at 5 pm when the voting was still on. Polling was held "peacefully" in 11,376 polling stations spread across 34 constituencies in West Bengal.

In a statement, the poll panel said 5,982 (52.58 per cent) out of 11,376 polling stations were monitored live through webcasting.

During the ongoing elections till this phase in West Bengal, a record seizure of Rs 332.94 crore has been reported till date.

The progressive seizure of all five states/UT as on date is Rs 1,035.54 crore (this includes seizures of Rs 12.11 crore in bye-elections also.) Fifteen live bombs were found in the Ballygunge assembly seat with the help of bomb squad and a fog squad.

On a tip off, 19 crude bombs were recovered in two bags near Hooghly Jute Mill Colony with the assistance of the Bomb Disposal Squad. Two miscreants carrying seven improvised country made serviceable guns and a "single barrel long musket gun" were arrested in Malda district, the statement said.

A total of 11,376 Ballot Units (BUs), 11,376 Control Units(CUs) and 11,376 VVPATs were used in West Bengal during this phase.

"Non-functioning rate of EVMs and VVPATs during the poll is comparable to what was experienced in the last few polls," it said.

One CU, at least one BU and one paper trail machine makes for one EVM.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal