Newly elected TMC leaders take oath as members of West Bengal Cabinet

Members of the newly elected West Bengal government were sworn in on Monday at the Raj Bhavan. Visuals from the event indicate that while most of the lawmakers appeared in person, others were administered the oath via video call. Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee who had been sworn in for a third term last week was also in attendance.

As per an update shared by news agency ANI, 43 TMC leaders were sworn in as ministers of the West Bengal cabinet. The oath was administered by Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar.

The oath taking ceremony took place hours after the Governor had sanctioned the prosecution of Firhad Hakim, Subrata Mukherjee, Madan Mitra and Sovan Chatterjee in conjunction with the posts they had held at the time of the the purported Narada sting tapes. Former Kolkata Mayor, Hakim and fellow MLA Subrata Mukherjee incidentally were among the ministers sworn in on Monday morning.

"I believe in the judiciary and I am sure we will get a clean chit. It is good that it is going to the court now," news agency ANI quoted Hakim as saying after the oath taking ceremony.

Further details awaited.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal