Nashik: Backed by opponents Congress and NCP, the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) today retained the Nashik mayoral seat with its candidate Ashok Devram Murtadak winning the municipal polls here.

Murtadak was declared elected as Nashik Municipal Corporation (NMC) Mayor after he polled 75 votes defeating Sena candidate Sudhakar Bhika Badgujar, who secured 44 votes, according to returning officer and Collector Vilas Patil.

Independent candidate Gurumit Arj nsingh Bagga was declared elected as the Deputy Mayor. He polled 75 votes, trouncing his only opponent BJP candidate Sambhaji Shyamrao Moruskar, who got 43 votes, Patil said.

Three members–two of CPM and one of Jansurajya Party– remained neutral in the Mayoral polls. While four members including two of CPM remained neutral in Deputy Mayoral polls.

In 2012, MNS with the support of BJP, had captured power in the NMC bagging 40 seats.

Advocate Yatin Wagh was the maiden elected mayor from MNS. Today’s polls were necessitated after the end of his two-and-half year tenure.

Last week, BJP snapped its ties with the MNS in NMC alleging that the Raj Thackeray-led party did not take them into confidence in some municipal works and declared its support to traditional ally Sena. While Congress and NCP joined hands with MNS in the last minute to keep out the saffron combine from coming to power.

In the 122-member NMC- MNS has 37 corporators, NCP-20, Congress-14, Shiv Sena-22, BJP-15, Independent-06, Jansurajya Party-02, RPI-03 and CPM-03.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal