Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath
Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath

Novel coronavirus hotspots in 15 districts of Uttar Pradesh - including Noida, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Lucknow, Agra, Shamli, Saharanpur are to be sealed.

These areas have seen an increasing number of coronavirus cases recently, and Rajendra Kumar Tiwari the Chief Secretary of the Government of Uttar Pradesh made the announcement on Wednesday.

Only home delivery and medical teams will be allowed there, ANI UP quoted the official to add.

Tiwari said that this was to ensure that community spread does not take place.

The Additional Chief Secretary added that Agra, Lucknow, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh Nagar, Kanpur Nagar, Varanasi, Shamli, Meerut, Bareilly, Bulandshahr, Basti, Saharanpur, Maharajganj and Sitapur have seen six or more cases.

Lockdown will be observed in the hotspots in these districts, he said.

Uttar Pradesh has so far seen over 300 cases of the virus. Across India nearly 5,200 cases have been recorded, as per data made available by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. 149 people who had tested positive for the virus have since passed away.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal