LJP MP Chirag Paswan
LJP MP Chirag Paswan
File Photo

In what seems like a political turnover, the Lok Janshakti Party appears to be set for a split as five of its six Lok Sabha MPs are said to have joined hands to oust Chirag Paswan as their leader in the House.

According to reports, the group of MPs has conveyed their decision to the Lok Sabha Speaker and has written to the Speaker to identify them as a separate group.

The majority of Lok Sabha MPs in Chirag’s party intend to replace him with Hajipur MP Pashupati Kumar Paras as the new leader of the LJP in Lok Sabha.

“LJP MPs met Lok Speaker Om Birla on Sunday and handed over a letter to him about new developments in the party. They request him to consider Pashupati Kumar Paras as new leader of the LJP in Lok Sabha," ANI reported, citing its sources.

As per reports, the LJP MPs are not happy with the working style of Chirag Paswan after the demise of his father, the former Union Minister and patron of LJP Ram Vilas Paswan.

According to a report by India Today, the LJP revolt is led by Chirag Paswan's uncle Pasupati Kumar Paras. Other MPs include Prince Raj (cousin), Chandan Singh, Veena Devi, Mehboob Ali Keshar.

Reacting to reports, Pashupati Kumar Paras said he has not broken the party and saved it instead. "There are 6 MPs in our party. It was the desire of 5 MPs to save our party. So, I've not broken the party, I've saved it. Chirag Paswan is my nephew as well as party's national president. I have no objection against him," LJP MP Pashupati Kumar Paras was quoted as saying by news agency ANI.

"5 MPs have submitted letter to the Speaker, we will go and meet him as and when he orders," he added.

While denying reports of rebel group may back the JD(U) in the coming days, Pashupati Kumar Paras said that this is 100% wrong. "This is 100% wrong. LJP is our party, the organisation is strong in Bihar. I was with NDA and I will continue to be a part of the alliance," he said.

LJP has a total of six MPs in Lok Sabha and five MPs have unanimously elected Pashupati Paras as leader of the party in the lower house.

The move is seen as a big political development in Bihar politics. LJP is currently a part of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) at the Centre.

(With inputs from Agencies)

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal