8 states including Maharashtra on alert after Delta Plus variant detected: National Centre for Disease Control

Eight states including Maharashtra, Punjab, Telangan, Andhra Pradesh, Delhi, Haryana, Kerala, & West Bengal are to be monitored and important as 50 percent of Delta Plus variant (VoC) have been found in these states, stated Director of National Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), Dr SK Singh.

Dr SK Singh informed that as of today, there are 48 cases of Delta Plus across the country. While on Friday, Maharashtra reported its first death due to Delta Plus variant in the state.

Meanwhile, the ministry has advised all the eight states to take up immediate containment measures, enhance testing, tracking and vaccination in districts and clusters where the Delta Plus variant has been detected.

The central government on Tuesday declared the 'Delta Plus' variant of the virus causing Covid-19 as a 'variant of concern' in India. In a press statement on the rising number of Delta Plus cases in the country, the Union Health Ministry on Tuesday said Delta Plus is "currently a variant of concern".

In its statement, the health ministry had said on Tuesday that the Union Health Secretary has communicated to Maharashtra, Kerala and Madhya Pradesh that the Delta Plus variant has been found in genome sequenced samples from Ratnagiri and Jalgaon Districts of Maharashtra; Palakkad and Pathanamthitta Districts of Kerala; and Bhopal and Shivpuri Districts of Madhya Pradesh.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal