Recently a group of 600 theatre artists including big names like Naseeruddin Shah, Konkona Sensharma, Anurag Kashyap, Ratna Pathak Shah and more had urged vote casters to vote against Bharatiya Janata Party to support and empower “equality and social justice”. However on Wednesday topping the previous number, around 907 members of field of literature and artists released a new joint statement supporting BJP.

The statement takes a dig at Congress and addresses people to vote for Mazboot Sarkar and not a Majboor Sarkar. It goes on to talk about how government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the need of the hour.

It further talks about how under Modi governance, India has acquired more respect and success globally. “We, creative artistes and persons belonging to the field of literature appeal to all our fellow citizens to caste their vote and exercise their right to elect the new Govt. without any pressure and prejudice.

We believe that during the last five years, India has seen a Govt. that has delivered corruption-free good governance and development-oriented administration. During this period, globally India has acquired greater respect. It is our firm conviction that the continuance of Govt. led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the need of the hour.”

The supporters include, PM Narendra Modi biopic stars Vivek Oberoi, composer Shankar Mahadevan, Anuradha Paudwal, Koena Mitra, Payal Rohatgi, Rahul Roy, Alok Nath and more.