SIIMA 2018: Baahubali multi-lingual film soars high in the Telugu category

BollywoodHungama | Updated on: Wednesday, May 29, 2019, 06:12 AM IST


Well, it has been a great year for South cinema considering that their magnum opus Baahubali – The Conclusion has created history in Indian cinema. Breaking records created by Bollywood too, this multi-lingual film has put our country on a global map amidst other foreign categories of films. The magnum opus of Rajamouli was undoubtedly celebrated at the recently held SIIMA in Dubai.

Leading the Telugu award category, Baahubali – The Conclusion managed to win the major awards as well as found its share of victory even in the music category. Other films like Arjun Reddy and Gautamiputra Satakarni too received appreciation. On the Kannada front, although the awards were much more concentrated on performances of different films, leading the race was Puneeth Rajkumar starrer Raajakumara scored high on the musical front.

Amidst intriguing dance performances and celebrating the work of some renowned stars, there was also a tribute that was included which was for India’s biggest female superstar Sridevi. Also, another interesting element was added by NTR biopic actors Nandamuri Balakrishna aka Ballayya and Rana Daggubati.


Best Telugu film: Baahubali – The Conclusion

Best Director: SS Rajamouli for Baahubali – The Conclusion


Best Actor (Female): Kajal Aggarwal for Nene Raju Nene Mantri

Best Actor (Male): Prabhas for Baahubali – The Conclusion


Best Actor In A Negative Role: Rana Daggubati for Baahubali – The Conclusion

Best Producer: Rajeev Reddy for Gautamiputra Satakarni

Best Film – Critics: Gautamiputra Satakarni

Best Actor (Male) – Critics: Nandamuri Balakrishna for Gautamiputra Satakarni

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female): Bhumika Chawla for Mca

Best Debutant (Male): Ishan for Rogue

Best Debutant (Female): Kalyani Priyadarshan for Hello

Best Debutant Director: Sandeep Reddy Vanga for Arjun Reddy

Best Comedy: Rahul Ramakrishna for Arjun Reddy

Best Music Director: MM Keeravani for Baahubali – The Conclusion

Best Playback Singer (Male): Kaala Bhairava for ‘Dandaalayyaa’ from Baahubali – The Conclusion

Best Playback Singer (Female): Madhupriya for ‘Vachchinde’ from Fidaa

Best Lyrics: Suddala Ashok Teja for Fidaa

Best Cinematography: Senthil Kumar for Baahubali – The Conclusion

Here’s the list of KANNADA FILMS:

Best Film: Raajakumara

Best Actor (Male): Puneeth Rajkumar for Raajakumara

Best Actor (Female): Shanvi Shrivastava for Taarak

Best Actor (Female) – Critics: Sruthi Hariharan for Beautiful Manasugalu

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male): Kashinath for Chowka

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female): Bhavana Rao for Satya Harishchandra

Best Actor In A Negative Role: Apeksha Purohit for Coffee Thota

Best Debutant (Male): Rishi for Operation Alamelamma

Best Debutant (Female): Ekta Rathod for Siliconn City

Best Debutant (Director): Tarun Sudhir for Chowka

Best Comedy: Say Kumar for Happy New Year

Best Child Actor (Spl. Award): Shlaga Saligrama for Kataka

Best Music Director: V Harikrishna for Raajakumara

Best Playback Singer (Male): Ravi Basur for ‘Chanda Chanda’ from Anjaniputra

Best Playback Singer (Female): Anuradha Bhat for ‘Appa I Love You’ from Chowka

Best Lyrics: Santhosh Ananddram for Raajakumara (Title Song)

Best Cinematographer: Santhosh Raj Pataje for Chamak

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. To receive it on Telegram, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Monday, September 17, 2018, 10:03 AM IST