Nirmala Sitharaman
Nirmala Sitharaman

Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman will chair the 41st GST Council meeting on Thursday via video conferencing. The meeting will be attended by MoS Finance Anurag Thakur besides Finance Ministers of states & UTs and senior officers from Union Government & states, said the Ministry of Finance.

In the last meeting held on June 12, the GST Council decided to waive off fees for late filing returns between July 2017 to January this year in a bid to minimise the impact of COVID-19 crisis on micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

On Wednesday, Congress interim President Sonia Gandhi held a meeting with Chief Ministers of Congress-ruled states and their counterparts of West Bengal, Maharashtra and Jharkhand on the issues related to GST dues of states and said that refusal to pay GST compensation to states is nothing short of betrayal on the part of the Narendra Modi government.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal