Sitasharan Sharma elected Speaker unanimously

BHOPAL: Dr. Sitasharan Sharma, MLA from Hoshangabad, was unanimously elected as Speaker of the state assembly on Thursday. Sharma, in his maiden address as Speaker, said that he had assumed charge a only a few minutes back and no one should harbour any doubts or apprehensions about him.

Sitasharan Sharma elected Speaker unanimously

He said he would try to match the expectations from him and perform his duties earnestly. Sharma said he would follow the traditions which have been laid down by his predecessors.

Sharma said he would follow the formula of ‘ 3Ds’ which is of debate, discussion and decision. He would also give support to 102 new members, who have been elected as MLA for the first time. He also urged the senior members to give chance to the new members.

Speaking about his style work, Sharma said that he would run the House upholding the highest traditions and considering the view points of all the parties as well as Independent MLAs. He said the MLAs must raise the problems of the people as they have been elected by the public with great expectations.

Business will decide duration of sessions

Sharma, interacting with media persons, said that the House would run when there is work to be done and availability of business would decide the number of sitting.

He said he would run the House with ‘ patience and balance’. Sharma also said that he would talk to the leaders of all the parties to ensure that the attendance of members is as high as possible.

Rajendra Singh files papers

Nomination form for election of Dr Rajendra Singh as deputy speaker was filed on Thursday. Chief minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan and leader of opposition Satyadev Katare filed the nomination. Singh too was present there.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal