Notification on June 2

BHOPAL: The election commission has announced the poll programme for Rajya Sabha elections. The BJP has to choose a candidate for the single seat for which polls will be held in Madhya Pradesh. The seat has fallen vacant as Faggan Singh Kulaste has resigned from the Rajya Sabha after winning the Lok Sabha polls from Mandla constituency.

Around four year term of his Rajya Sabha membership is left. The notification for the Rajya Sabha election would be issued on June 2 and the last date for filing of nomination papers would be June 9. In case need for voting arises, it would be held on June 19.

Prakash Javdekar and Nirmala Sitaraman have been included in the union ministry whereas they are not the members of any House. The BJP has to send them to the Rajya Sabha. According to sources, Javdekar or Sitaraman may be sent to the Rajya Sabha from the only vacant seat of the state. The main contestants for the seat from the state are former Member of Parliament Rameshwar Sharma and Meghraj Jain. The name of the state general secretary of the BJP Vinod Gotia is also in news for the seat.

In 2012 Kulaste was sent to Rajya Sabha in place of Jain and that is why Jain is again trying his luck.  Sharma was also not given a second term in the Rajya Sabha and his candidature for Lok Sabha from Mandsaur was rejected. He too is lobbying for entry into the Upper House.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal