Bhopal: The committees formed after the appointment of Kamal Nath as state Congress chief for the assembly elections has kicked up a row on Wednesday following which four party leaders, including an MLA from Suswasra Hardeep Singh Dung put in their papers in protest.

MP Meenakshi Natrajan, known to be close to Congress president Rahul Gandhi, resigned from  the election manifesto committee in protest against the inclusion of Rajendra Singh Gautam in the committee. While Dung resigned from the All India Congress Committee (AICC) and from the post of delegate in the state party committee in support of Natrajan.

Mandsaur Congress district vice-president Mahendra Singh Gurjar and District Mahila Congress president Babita Singh Tomar too have resigned. Gautam, said to be close to MP Jyotiraditya Scindia, was included in the coordination committee on Scindia’s recommendation.

Gautam was expelled from the Congress. He contested the Lok Sabha elections against Natrajan in 2009. He was also suspended in the past for his anti-party activities. Though the attempts to pacify Natrajan were on, Gautam’s removal may annoy Scindia.

Sources said that the state Congress acting vice-president Chandraprabhash Shekhar had spoken to Natrajan. However, Natrajan refused to say anything to media on the matter. Congress media committee, chairman, Manak Agarwal said that he could not comment as she had not said anything to him.

Local unit unhappy with new Katni chief

Appointment of Mithilesh Jain as district president of Katni has sparked dissent amongst party leaders in the city. Some party leaders from Katni claim that Jain is close to Minister Sanjay Pathak. They met Shekhar and expressed their anguish.

Coordination committee’s first meet

Coordination committee will hold its first meeting on Thursday. Congress state president Kamal Nath, former CM Digvijay Singh and members concerned will attend the meeting.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal