Bhopal: 25 assembly constituencies declared sensitive

Election commission has placed 25 assembly constituencies in sensitive category and has made special plans and arrangements to ensure free and fair elections.  These constituencies face not only multiple challenges of law and order but are also expenditure sensitive.

Constituencies placed in sensitive category attract more attention in terms of additional deployment. More police personnel and central forces are deployed in such areas besides making arrangement for reserve police force in nearby region.  Additional expenditure observers are also deployed in pockets that are put under expenditure sensitive category.

CEO VL Kantha Rao has recently held a meeting of nodal officers of expenditure monitoring departments and directed the officials of important departments that keep an account of flow of fund and transportation and to remain extra vigilant in such constituencies.

Flying squads and static teams to monitor flow of funds have already been pressed into such constituencies. CEO office has started a weekly review of law and order situation. Complaints related to law and order filed during assembly elections and their current status is being reviewed in these meetings. Execution of warrants is also being monitored.

Political FIRs, cases of violation of model code of conduct, cases pending in courts and paid news etc are also on agenda of the CEO office.  The complaint cell has also initiated action on the complaints received so far. District wise review is being done- from where complaints were received in large numbers during assembly elections.

Most of constituencies identified fall in Chambal, Malwa region
Most of the constituencies identified sensitive fall in Chambal and Malwa region. The constituencies from Gwalior-Chambal region include Bhind, Lahar, Gwalior East, Gwalior West, Bhitarwar and Jaura. Constituencies declared sensitive from Malwa include Dhar, Manawar, Harsud, Mhow, Rau, Sanver, Ujjain South, Depalpur, Garoth, Mandsaur and all five seats of Indore. Other constituencies include Junnardeo, Amarwada and Satna.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal