TATA Mumbai Marathon 2024 Highlights & Visuals: Ethiopians Dominate International Categories, Srinu Bugatha Top Indian Finisher

The event will witness a global gathering of runners, contributing significantly to the TMM's international appeal

Rohan Sen Updated: Sunday, January 21, 2024, 02:16 PM IST

Final results:

Ethiopian long-distance runner Lemi Berhanu Hayle secures victory and retains the International Elite Men's title at the Tata Mumbai Marathon 2024.

Srinu Bugatha is the first Indian to cross the finish line ahead of Gopi and Sher. Minsewo shines bright as the champion in the International Elite Women's category while compatriots Muluhabt Tsega was second and Medhin Bejene came in third.

Srinu Bugatha clocked 2:17:29 to finish 8th overall & top in Indian Men's Elite.

Nirmaben Thakor topped Indian Women's Elite clocking 2:47:11.

"I started training around September for this. I do 3 runs a week. One long run, one interval run and one easy run and then I do strengths training in between, depending on schedule work, family and kids. But I try to work 5-6 days a week. I did this race so I can do 2 oceans, which I'm going to do in Cape Town in April so this is my qualifier. I inspire myself, because I'm almost 50 doing 12 marathons and I'm going to keep going," international participant Sasha from Dubai tells FPJ.

"Nina foundation inspired me to take part in this marathon. It took me 1 year to train for this. I was training at home only," participant Pankaj tells FPJ.

"He is quadriplegic, can't move his hands or feet. Even moving a little is a big task for him. Now he can sit on the wheelchair by himself, eats using his own hands. It is because of fitness that he can do all this," Pankaj's trainer Yusuf adds.

FPJ photo

Gopi and Srinu have seized a commanding lead in the Indian Elite Men's category. Meanwhile, Lemi and Alew have soared past the competition in the International Elite Men's category.

Running for a cause

"We are fighting for animal liberation. We believe that not just dogs and cats but all other animals, especially farmed animals, they also deserve the right to live. Free from unnecessary sufferings that humans cause. And we know that a human can be healthy and happy through all stages of life on a plant-based diet. We believe there is no excuse to harm and kill animals just because we like the way they taste," Animal Save India NGO's Rajeshwar Singh tells FPJ.

FPJ Photo

Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde flagged off the Mumbai Marathon along with Deputy CM Devendra Fadnavis and other bigwigs from the world of politics.

Kalki Koechlin, Rahul Bose, Nikita Dutta, Tara Sharma, Milind Soman, and Sagarika Ghosh are some of the Bollywood celebrities participating in this marathon.

Over 59,000 participants have taken to the streets of Mumbai today in both on-ground and virtual categories, commencing their run from the iconic Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST). The total prize money for the winners is set at an impressive US $405,000.

The diverse participation breakdown includes 10,711 runners in the Marathon, 15,218 in the Half Marathon, 7,130 in the Open 10K, 20,590 in the Dream Run, 1,782 in the Senior Citizens Run, and 1,114 in the Champions with Disability category.

FanCode is set to revolutionise the Tata Mumbai Marathon by introducing a groundbreaking real-time tracking system for amateur runners participating in the 10k race, all through their assigned bib numbers.

Runners can effortlessly share a link with friends and family containing a pre-entered bib number. Alternatively, they can share their bib number, and their friends and family can visit FanCode to enter the bib number and start watching the run live. Both methods offer a seamless experience.

During the live stream, viewers tracking a specific bib number will have access to dynamic stats such as total run time, distance covered, and average pace in real time.

Half Marathon Gets Underway:

TATA Mumbai Marathon Preview:

The prestigious Tata Mumbai Marathon (TMM), widely regarded as Asia's premier running event, is set to make a grand return, attracting a massive turnout of over 50,000 participants.

The marathon will kick off from the iconic Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (CSMT). The event will witness a global gathering of runners, contributing significantly to the TMM's international appeal.

Leading the Indian contingent are Gopi T and Aarti Patil. Notably, the winners in both the men's and women's categories will receive a substantial prize of INR 5,00,000 each, along with an additional bonus of INR 2,00,000, further elevating the stakes of this highly anticipated marathon.

Race Start Timings

The Full Marathon of the Tata Mumbai Marathon commences at 5 am, originating from either Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus or Victoria Terminus.

The holding area at Azad Maidan opens its gates at 3 am, accessible through Gate 5A and Gate 4, closing at 4:45 am. The race concludes at OCS Chowki, with a cut-off time of 12:30 pm.

The elite race, featuring top international and Indian runners, begins at 7:20 am and concludes by 10:50 am.

TMM 2024 Route

Starting and finishing at Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, the route encompasses iconic landmarks such as Hutatma Chowk, Oval Maidan, Marine Drive, Babulnath Temple, Haji Ali, Mahalaxmi Race Course, Worli Sea Face, Sea Link, Bandra Reclamation, Lilavati Hospital, Mahim Church, Siddhivinayak Temple, Century Bazaar, Nehru Science Centre, and Churchgate station, offering a challenging and scenic course for participants.

Published on: Sunday, January 21, 2024, 02:16 PM IST