Navratri 2023: Nine Avatars of Goddess Durga And Their Significance

By: FPJ Web Desk | October 10, 2023

Maa Shailaputri: It is believed that in her previous incarnation, she was Sati, daughter of King Daksha. She is also known as 'The Daughter Of Himalayas', wife of Lord Shiva and mother of Kartikeya and Ganesha. She is considered to be the provider of fortune, prosperity and spiritual awakening

Pic credit: Rudraksha Ratna

Maa Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second day of Navratri. The lotuses attached to her body symbolize knowledge, and the white saree represents purity. By worshipping her, qualities like penance, renunciation, detachment, and self-control naturally enhance

Pic credit: MyPandit

Maa Chandraghanta is also known as the 'Destroyer Of Demons'. She is the symbol of fearlessness and courage

Pic credit: Rudraksha Ratna

Maa Kushmanda is believed to have created the entire Brahmanda. She is believed to bestow people with good health and wealth

Pic credit: Gujarat Tourism

Maa Skandamata: The fifth avatar of Maa Durga is known for bestowing devotees with salvation, power, and prosperity

Pic credit: MyPandit

Maa Katyayani: Known as the 'Slayer Of Demon Mahishashura', the sixth avatar of Maa Durga is believed to have been created by the combined energies of all the Gods. She symbolizes intelligence and peace

Pic credit: Online Temple

Maa Kalaratri is one of the fiercest forms of Maa Durga and is known to slay all kinds of demons, ghosts, evil spirits and negative energies. She is considered to be the one who rescues from troubles

Pic credit: Om Swami

Maa Mahagauri: According to Hindu Mythology, Maa Mahagauri is believed to bestow her devotees with prosperity and good health

Pic credit: Rudraksha Ratna

Maa Siddhidhatri is worshipped on the last day of Navratri. She blesses her devotees with wisdom and knowledge

Pic credit: Shaligram Shala

Thanks For Reading!

Get Ready For Garba! Top Venues In Mumbai To Look For Celebrating Navratri Utsav 2023

Find out More