Pakistan general election: Prominent leaders cast their votes in a knife-edge election

Islamabad: Political leaders from prominent parties cast their votes as people came in droves to poll in a knife-edge general election on Wednesday, pitting Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Imran Khan against jailed ex-Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif cast his vote in Model Town, Lahore. Speaking to the media, the younger brother of the former Prime Minister urged the masses to vote for the PML-N to change the country’s destiny. “Today will be the day PML-N will emerge victorious,” he said.

PTI chief Imran Khan cast his vote in an Islamabad constituency from where he is also contesting. Speaking to the media, he urged the public to vote in order to defeat the status quo. PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari voted in Larkana. He condemned the terrorist attack in Quetta as well as incidents of violence reported in Larkana and Sanghar areas of Sindh.

Chief Justice Saqib Nisar cast his ballot in Lahore. President Mamnoon Hussain voted along his wife in Karachi. Among those who voted include former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, former Defence Minister Khurram Dastgir, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam’s (JUI) Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehman and Cricket legend Wasim Akram and his mother.

Veteran actress and producer Samina Peerzada shared a picture on Twitter holding out her inked thumb. Actress Mawra Hocane also tweeted her picture with the caption “voted”.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal