England have won the toss and have opted to bat /  / OLI SCARFF
England have won the toss and have opted to bat / / OLI SCARFF

Chester-le-Street: England skipper Eoin Morgan on Wednesday won the toss and opted to bat against New Zealand in their final group-stage fixture of the World Cup at the Riverside Cricket Ground.

England have gone with the same playing XI that featured against India. On the other hand, New Zealand have made two changes to their team. Tim Southee and Mark Henry have been included in the side in place of Lockie Ferguson and Ish Sodhi.

"We will bat first because of pitch and overhead conditions. There is more on the line so there is more excitement. This game is like a quarter-final for us. The victory against India has boosted our confidence. New Zealand are a strong side we have to play well to compete," said Morgan after winning the toss.

"I would have liked to bat first too but the pitch doesn't change much here. It is important that we do the job with the ball first-up. Southee and Henry come in place of Ferguson and Sodhi," said New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson.

Playing XIs:

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(w), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), Colin de Grandhomme, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Trent Boult

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal