Photo by Element5 Digital from Pexels
Photo by Element5 Digital from Pexels

The elections to the 16th Lok Sabha that began on April 11 are being held in seven phases across India, out of which the first two phases took place on April 11 and 18. According to reports, nearly 90 crore people are registered as voters. The next phases of the elections will be held on April 23 (Phase III), April 29 (Phase IV), May 6 (Phase V), May 12 (Phase VI) and May 19 (Phase VII). The counting of the votes will take place on May 23. The current Lok Sabha’s tenure ends on June 3.

Documents to carry:

Electors who do not have voter cards but are enrolled as voters can carry voter slip along with any one of the following documents and cast their vote.

  1. Passport
  2. Aadhar Card
  3. Driving Licence
  4. Service identity cards with photographs issued to employees by the central/state government, PSUs, Public limited companies
  5. Passbooks issued by banks or post office
  6. PAN Card
  7. Smart card issued by the Registrar General of India under National Populations Register
  8. MNREGA Job Card
  9. Health insurance smart card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour
  10. Pension document with a photograph
  11. Official identity cards issued to MPs, MLAs, and MLCs