Triangular fight in two seats; direct contest in rest 5 seats

Congress now faces rebel candidate in Mahidpur; BJP in Barnagar

Ujjain: Barring two constituencies of Ujjain district, viz Mahidpur and Barnagar where Congress and BJP rebels are in the fray, there will be direct fight between the BJP and Congress candidates in rest of the five constituencies. The damage control exercise launched by the high commands of BJP and Congress finally bore fruits on Monday as their rebel candidates withdrew nomination papers from Tarana, Ujjain North, Ujjain South and Barnagar constituencies. In Nagda- Khachrod and Ghattiya constituencies, there appears to be no revolt in the parties.

Triangular fight in two seats; direct contest in rest 5 seats

The battle lines for Assembly Elections were drawn on Monday afternoon following the withdrawal of 26 nominations by the rebel candidates of both the Congress and BJP, who filed nomination papers as independent candidates. From Ujjain North and Tarana constituency, two Congress rebels each- Rajendra Bharati ( former MLA), Maya Trivedi ( corporator) and Babulal Malviya ( former minister of state) and Mahesh Parmar ( Zila Panchayat member) withdrew their nomination papers, respectively.

BJP rebel Tarachand Goyal ( former MLA) also withdrew his nomination form from Tarana. Vivek adav alias Vicky ( Congress) and minister Paras Jain ( BJP) while Indore’s Rajendra Malviya ( Congress) and Ujjain Development Authority vice- chairman Anil Firojiya ( BJP) are in the fray from Ujjain North and Tarana constituency, respectively.

Likewise, from Ujjain South constituency, two BJP rebels – Virendra Kavadiya ( former vice- chairman, Ujjain Development Authority) and Bhanwar Singh Chaudhari ( former general secretary, BJP) – withdrew their nominations.

Triangular fight in two seats; direct contest in rest 5 seats

BJP’s Mohan Yadav ( chairman, State Tourism Development Corporation) will not take on Jai Singh Darbar ( president, District Congress Committee, rural) in this seat. From Barnagar constituency, one each candidate of the BJP and Congress – Shantilal Dhabai ( outgoing MLA) and Surendra Singh Sisodia ( former MLA) withdrew their nominations respectively.

Though, another BJP rebel Sukhmal Jain ( former Barnagar Municipal Council president) declined to withdraw his nomination paper.

Barnagar Municipal Council president Mukesh Pandya ( BJP) and former Zila Panchayat president Mahesh Patel ( Congress) are in the fray from this seat. Likewise, Congress rebel Dinesh Jain Boss ( Zila Panchayat member) declined to withdraw his nomination paper from Mahidpur.

Congress’ Kalpana Parulekar ( sitting MLA) is fighting the tri- angular contest including BJP’s Bahadur Singh Chauhan ( former MLA).

In Nagda- Khachrod constituency, there is a direct fight between Congress candidate Dilip Singh Gurjar ( sitting MLA) and BJP candidate Dilip Singh Shekhawat again.

In Ghattiya, Congress candidate Ramlal Malviya ( sitting MLA) and BJP candidate Satish Malviya are in straight fight. Total 85 candidates had filed nomination papers for the seven seats in the district.

With the withdrawal of 26 independent candidates on Monday, now 59 candidates are left in the fray for the seven seats. No candidate withdrew nomination from Nagda- Khachrod, Mahidpur and Ghattiya constituency. Ujjain South witnessed highest number of nomination withdrawal as nine candidates quit the contest. Further, eight independent candidates withdrew their nomination papers from Tarana constituency, six from Barnagar and three from Ujjain North.

Nagda- Khachrod constituency has the highest number of candidates with 13 candidates left in the fray while the lowest numbers of eight candidates are in the fray for Mahidpur, Ghattiya and Tarana constituency.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal