Updated on: Sunday, June 02, 2019, 07:08 AM IST

Ravindra, Madhubala win Chembur Mahamarathon



Ravindra Ananda Gaikar and Madhubala lifted the mens and womens above 19 titles of the First- ever Chembur Mahamarathon respectively jointly organised by the Dr Bachubhai Arjun Chauhan Sports Academy and Maharash

tra Sports Departments District Sports Council on the eve of the National Sports Day on August 28 ( Sunday). The event was well attended by a huge crowd which enthusiastically cheered the participants.

Laxman Ramchandra Malusare and Ajay Singh bagged the second and third position of the mens above 19 category, while Jayshree Borade and Swarali Limbkar came second and third in the womens above 19 event.


Gaikar was awarded with cash prize of Rs 10,000, besides a trophy and gold medal. While Malusare become richer by bagging the cash prize of Rs 5000 coupled with a trophy and a silver medal, Ajay Singh bagged Rs 3000 and a bronze medal.

Madhubala was awarded the gold medal and a cash prize of Rs 10,000, while Borade and Limbkar were given silver and bronze medals along with cash prize of Rs 5000 and Rs 3000 respectively, In the mens senior category, Eknath Patil emerged the winner, while Gangaram Patil and Kamlakar Pawar came second and third.

Eknath received the gold medal and a cash prize of Rs 5000, while Gangaram and Kamlakar were awarded silver and a bronze along with the cash prize of Rs 3000 and Rs 2000 respectively.


Earlier, Anil Bachubhai Chauhan, president of the Dr Bachubhai Arjun Chauhan Sports Academy, flagged off the marathon at 7 am in which around 3000 athletes participated in the 7 kilometer event.

Abhijit Rane, Editor of Mumbai Mitra, Deepak Chauhan, Mahendra Chemburkar, Ramesh Mahapankar, Subodh Acharya, Rajshri Palade, Kisan Kadam, Lalita Wasan were present at the prize distribution ceremony.

Results: ( Senior mens): 1 Eknath Patil, 2 Gangaram Patil, 3 Kamlakar Pawar.


( Above 19 mens): 1 Ravindra Ananda Gaikar, 2 Laxman Ramchandra Malusare, 3 Ajay Singh.

( Above 19 womens): 1Madhubala, 2 Jayshree Borade, 3 Swarali Limbkar.

( 16- 19 girls): 1 Shrusti Despande, 2 Vrushali Madavi, 3 Jasmine Kundan Rawate.

( 10- 15 boys): 1 Pintu Kandu Gaikar, 2 Manoj Pannanlal Gupta, 3 Rahul Nandlal Yadav.

( 10- 15 girls): 1 Abhirami Prasanna, 2 Sakshi Mishra, 3 Manali Khohale.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Wednesday, August 31, 2011, 05:30 AM IST