Ujjain: As many as six candidates have filed their nomination for the corporator seat of ward 32; the seat has been lying vacant since several months after the death of corporator Premkumar Yadav. Both major parties have panelised the name of possible candidates; there are four nominations from BJP and two from Congress party.

Those who filed their nominations are Mujjafar Hussain, Chandu Mechanic, Badrilal Sharma, and Aftar Qureshi from BJP while Arjun Yadav and Ismail Baksh filed nominations from Congress. The State Election Commission (SEC) constituted under the Constitution (Seventy-third and Seventy-fourth) Amendments Act, 1992 for each State / Union Territory are vested with the powers of conduct of elections to the Corporations, Muncipalities, Zilla Parishads, District Panchayats, Panchayat Samitis, Gram Panchayats and other local bodies.

They are independent of the Election Commission of India, due to which local bodies of parties are no eager to finalise the names of candidate as SEC has a provision for filing nomination (form A) on the last day for withdrawal of nominations.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal