• Total 85 candidates in fray in seven constituencies of district
  • BJP candidates facing rebels at Tarana, Ujjain South and Barnagar
  • Cong candidates facing rebels at Mahidpur, Ujjain North and Barnagar

Ujjain: After scrutiny of nomination forms, total 85 candidates are left in fray for the Assembly Elections from seven constituencies of the district. The highest number of 17 candidates is in Ujjain South constituency and the lowest eight candidates each in Mahidpur and Ghattiya constituencies.

One former minister of state from Congress; three former MLAs – two from BJP and one from Congress – and two Zila Panchayat members ( from Congress) are among the prominent independent candidates.

The final picture about the candidate will be known only on November 11 after the withdrawal of nomination forms.

According to official information, in Nagda- Khachrod constituency, 13 candidates including sitting Congress MLA Dilip Singh Gurjar and his BJP rival Dilip Singh Shekhawat and Samajawadi Party candidate Nayabuddin, are in fray. From Mahidpur constituency, sitting Congress MLA Kalpana Parulekar, her BJP rival Bahadur Singh Chauhan ( former

MLA), Zila Panchayat member Dinesh Jain Boss ( independent) and others are in the fray. From Tarana, 16 candidates are in the fray including BJP nominee Anil Firojiya, his Congress rival Rajendra Malviya, two Congress rebellion Babulal Malviya ( former minister of state) and Zila Panchayat member Mahesh Parmar and BJP rebellion former MLA Tarachand Goyal ( all independents) and others.

From Ghattiya, sitting Congress MLA Ramlal Malviya, BJP candidate Satish Malviya and others are contesting the election. From Ujjain North constituency 10 candidates have filed their nominations.

State minister Paras Jain ( BJP), Vivek adav ( Congress), former MLA Rajendra Bharati and Congress corporator Maya Trivedi ( both rebel Congress

candidates) are among the prominent candidates. From Ujjain South, prominent candidates who are left in the fray included Mohan adav ( BJP), Jai Singh Darbar ( Congress) and two BJP rebels Virendra Kavadiya and Bhanwar Singh Chaudhari ( both independent) among others.

From Barnagar, 13 candidates, including BJP candidate Mukesh Pandya, Congress candidate Mahesh Patel, BJP rebel candidates sitting MLA Shantilal Dhabai and Sukhmal Jain ( both independents) and Congress rebel and former MLA Surendra Singh Sisodia are trying their electoral luck.

According to additional collectors Gopal Dad and Pawan Jain, scrutiny of the nomination papers was carried out on Saturday. One, 2- 2, 5- 5 and 9 nomination papers were rejected at Nagda- Khachrod, Tarana and Ghattiya, Ujjain North and Ujjain South and Barnagar constituencies, respectively.

These nomination papers were rejected as these 24 persons had mentioned them as BJP and Congress nominees, but failed to furnish the A and B forms.

Lack of coordination exposed

Generally the activities pertaining to conduct the Assembly elections are considered to be highly sensitive, but this time there appears to be lack of coordination among the authorities concerned. On Friday night, senior election officers had informed the media persons that former minister of state Babulal Malviya and Zila Panchayat member Mahesh Parmar have filed their nomination papers as Congress candidate from Tarana constituency, but on Saturday they said that these persons had filed nomination papers as independent candidates. Similarly, it was also informed that the sitting BJP MLA Shantilal Dhabai and Sukhmal Jain had filed their nomination papers as BJP candidates from Barnagar, but on Saturday they informed that Dhabai and Jain had also filed nomination papers and independent candidates. On being asked why such erroneous information was provided, deputy district returning officer Pawan Jain described it as a clerical mistake.

Reported also wanted to know about the details of the affidavits submitted by the high profile candidates, but they failed to reply satisfactorily. Several other such lacunas also came to fore.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal